Publish date:

New Literary Agent Alert: Lauren Spieller of Triada US Literary Agency

She is seeking: Middle Grade and Young Adult fiction, as well as commercial Adult fiction. Whatever the age group or genre, Lauren welcomes diverse voices.

ReminderNew literary agents (with this spotlight featuring Lauren Spieller of Triada US Literary Agency) are golden opportunities for new writers because each one is a literary agent who is likely building his or her client list.

FullSizeRender

About Lauren: Lauren Spieller is an author and literary agent living in Brooklyn. Before joining Triada US, she worked in literary scouting, and as an editorial consultant. She is the author of THE WANDERINGS OF DESSA ROSE (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2018).

(Query letter FAQs answered.)

Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 2.57.50 PM

The biggest literary agent database anywhere
is the Guide to Literary Agents. Pick up the
most recent updated edition online at a discount.

She is seeking: Middle Grade and Young Adult fiction, as well as commercial Adult fiction. Whatever the age group or genre, Lauren welcomes diverse voices.In MG, she’s drawn to heartfelt contemporaries, exciting adventures, contemporary fantasy, and magical realism. Some of her favorite recent novels include Rules for Stealing Stars, George, My Seventh-Grade Life In TightsThe Seventh Wish, and Rooftoppers. In YA, she’d love to find authentic teen voices in any genre. Her recent favorites include Dumplin’, Scorpio Races, Since You’ve Been Gone, Feed, The Lunar Chronicles, Six of Crows, and Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda.

In Adult, Lauren is seeking commercial fiction, particularly twisted thrillers in the vein of Lauren Beukes and Gillian Flynn, and immersive fantasies, such as The Night Circus, The Miniaturist, The Rook, and A Darker Shade of Magic. She is also interested in Women’s Fiction and pop-culture non-fiction.

(Can writers query multiple agents at the same agency?)

How to Submit: Please send a concise summary of your work, along with the first ten pages in the body of an email to lauren [at] triadaus.com. 

------------------

Check Out These Great Upcoming Writers Conferences:

Screen Shot 2014-12-17 at 3.39.23 PM

Your new complete and updated instructional guide
to finding an agent is finally here: The 2015 book
GET A LITERARY AGENT shares advice from more 
than 110 literary agents who share advice on querying, 
craft, the submission process, researching agents, and
much more. Filled with all the advice you'll ever need to
find an agent, this resource makes a great partner book to
the agent database, Guide to Literary Agents.

Other writing/publishing articles & links for you:

Writer's Digest 90th Annual Competition Memoir/Personal Essay First Place Winner: "Passion’s War"

Writer's Digest 90th Annual Competition Memoir/Personal Essay First Place Winner: "Passion’s War"

Congratulations to LC Helms, first place winner in the Memoir/Personal Essay category of the 90th Annual Writer's Digest Writing Competition. Here's the winning essay, "Passion’s War."

WD-90th-Annual-2020-LaunchLogos-1100x615(1)

Announcing the Winners of the 90th Annual Writer's Digest Writing Competition

Congratulations to the winners of the 90th Annual Writer's Digest Writing Competition!

Plot Twist Story Prompts: Big Deception

Plot Twist Story Prompts: Big Deception

Every good story needs a nice (or not so nice) turn or two to keep it interesting. This week, unveil a big deception from an unreliable narrator or character.

We Asked, You Answered: Reader Recommendations for Spooky Season

We Asked, You Answered: Reader Recommendations for Spooky Season

We asked our Instagram followers what books they suggest during spooky season. Here are the titles they recommend for a frightful night in!

What Is a Cli-FI Novel in Writing and What Are Some Examples?

What Is a Cli-Fi Novel and What Are Some Examples?

The literary landscape is as changing as our physical landscape—and one genre gaining momentum is looking to start conversations around that change. Author Marjorie B. Kellogg defines what climate fiction is, and offers some examples that suggests the cli-fi novel has been around for decades.

WD-90th-Annual-2021-WinnerGraphic

Writer's Digest 90th Annual Competition Winning Non-Rhyming Poem: "Anticipatory Grief"

Congratulations to Melissa Joplin Higley, Grand Prize winner of the 90th Annual Writer's Digest Writing Competition. Here's her winning non-rhyming poem, "Anticipatory Grief."

Poetry Prompt

Wednesday Poetry Prompts: 587

Every Wednesday, Robert Lee Brewer shares a prompt and an example poem to get things started on the Poetic Asides blog. This week, write an On Blank poem.

What to Say When Someone Wants to Kill You | Power of Words

What to Say When Someone Wants to Kill You

Author Gregory Galloway shares an intimate moment in his life that taught him the power of words and reveals why he became a writer.

Writing About Real People in Historical Fiction: What Is Factual and What Is Imagined

Writing About Real People in Historical Fiction: What Is Factual and What Is Imagined

When writing about real people in a real time, how do you distinguish between what is true and what is imaginary? Patti Callahan discuss how to write about real people in historical fiction.