Announcing the 25th Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards Winners

Writer’s Digest would like to congratulate the 44 winners of the 25th Annual Self-Published Book Awards.
Author:
Publish date:

Writer’s Digest would like to congratulate the 44 winners of the 25th Annual Self-Published Book Awards. For full coverage of the awards, check out the March/April 2018 issue of Writer's Digest. Click here for an extended Q&A with the grand-prize winner, Suanne Laqueur. To read a brief excerpt from An Exaltation of Larks, click here.

Grand Prize

An Exaltation of Larks by Suanne Laqueur ($17.99) Cathedral Rock Press. suannelaqueurwrites.com.

Children’s Picture Books

First Place

Rice & Rocks by Sandra L. Richards and Megan Kayleigh Sullivan (illustrator) ($17.99) Wise Ink Creative Publishing. sandralrichards.com.

Honorable Mentions

Charlie the Cross-Eyed Crocodile (The Adventures of Willy Nilly and Thumper) by Jim Henry with Jimmy Patterson and Marjorie van Heerden (illustrator) ($7.95) Willy Nilly Stories LLC. willynillyandthumper.com.

The Day Annabelle Was Bitten By a Doodlebug by Julie Wenzlick and Jaime Buckley (illustrator) ($10) Wordmeister Press. juliewenzlick.com.

Genre Fiction

First Place

The Baker’s Man by Jennifer Moorman ($9.99) CreateSpace. jennifermoorman.com.

Honorable Mentions

A Violation of Innocence by Joe Pike Farr ($9.99) CreateSpace.

Brutal Angels by Gordon Gustafson ($7.99) CreateSpace.

Castle Danger by Chris Norbury ($16.95) Booklocker.com Inc. chrisnorbury.com.

Cenote by Carleton Prince ($7.99) CreateSpace. carletonprince.com.

Death’s Grip by Ken L. Gould ($9.99) Grael Publishing. authorkengould.com.

Deeply Flawed: The Zombie Apocalypse by Ro Ruffalo ($14.99) CreateSpace. roruffalo.com.

Duality by D. M. Lockwood ($14.99) Blue Penney Press.

Grave Matters by Todd Harra ($13.99) Todd Harra. toddharra.com.

Murder in Madden by Raegan Teller ($12.99) Pondhawk Press LLC. raeganteller.com.

The White Devil by Domenic Stansberry ($11.95) Molotov Editions. domenicstansberry.com.

Inspirational

First Place

Ten Commandments of Business Success for Women by Sharman Dow ($19.95) HigherLife Publishing. sharmandowministries.org.

Honorable Mentions

Deep Living: Healing Yourself to Heal the Planetby Susanne Meyer-Fitzsimmons ($16.83) Full Court Press. susannemeyerfitzsimmons.com.

Fall In Love With Your Life, One Week at a Time by Emily Madill ($24.99) EM & JOE Books Co. emilymadill.com.

The Refuge: An Inspirational Novel of Scotland by Regan Walker ($12.99) reganwalkerauthor.com.

Life Stories

First Place

An Unforeseen Journey by Mary Stewart VanValkenburg with Gail Dupar ($30) Classic Day Publishing. decaturislandjourney.com.

Honorable Mentions

Asian Girl in a Southern World by Dalena H. Benavente ($14.99) Dalena H. Benavente.

Beyond Rain Man by Anne K. Ross ($15.98) Leatherback Press. beyondrainman.com.

Cheeking My Meds by Francis CoCo (AKA Penni Goode Evans) ($11) CreateSpace.

Crazy Horse Appearing by Judee Shipman ($25.95) Ishi Press.

The Grand Gypsy by Ottavio Canestrelli with Ottavio Gesmundo ($18.98) Lulu Publishing Services. thegrandgypsy.com.

Mainstream/Literary Fiction

First Place

First, You Swallow the Moon by Kipp Wessel ($21.95) radialGRAIN. kippwessel.com.

Honorable Mentions

A Painted Lily by Angela Hoke ($12.99) CreateSpace. angelahokeauthor.com.

Beneath a Shooting Star by Susan Harrison Rashid ($17.99) Mill City Press Inc.
beneathashootingstar.com.

Brought to Our Sensesby Kathleen H. Wheeler ($16) Attunement Publishing. authorkathleenhwheeler.com.

London Belongs to Me by Jacquelyn Middleton ($14.95) Kirkwall Books. jacquelynmiddleton.com.

Ocean Echoes by Sheila Hurst ($12.95) Soliton Publications. sheilahurst.wordpress.com.

The Last Cruz by Caitlin Avery ($14.92) SDP Publishing. caitlinavery.com.

Unregistered by Nellie K. ($7) CreateSpace. nelliek.ch.

What She Inherits by Diane V. Mulligan ($14.99) CreateSpace.

Middle-Grade/Young Adult Fiction

First Place

Thomas Holland in the Realm of the Ogres by K. M. Doherty ($14.99) Wizard’s Mark Press. thomashollandbooks.com.

Honorable Mentions

Keep in a Cold, Dark Place by Michael F. Stewart ($8.95) The Publishing House. michaelfstewart.com.

Paige in History by Erin Meadows ($11.50) CreateSpace. theerinmeadows.com.

The Last Letter: A Novel by Susan Pogorzelski ($12.99) Brown Beagle Books.
susanpogorzelski.com.

Nonfiction

First Place

Tiller’s Guide to Indian Country, Third Edition by Veronica E. Velarde Tiller ($325) BowArrow Publishing Company. veronicatiller.com.

Honorable Mentions

Collect Value Divest: The Savvy Appraiser by Dr. Elizabeth Stewart ($19.95) Flandricka House Press. elizabethappraisals.com.

Toxic Food Nation by Dr. George Burnell ($31.95) Outskirts Press.

Poetry

First Place

Where Desire Settles by Karen Schulte ($15) You-Pub Books. allbook-books.com/html/_where_desire_settles_.htm.

Honorable Mentions

Five O’Clock by Joe Montaño III ($11.95) Outskirts Press.

Imperfect Echoes by Carolyn Howard-Johnson ($9.95) CreateSpace.

Image placeholder title
Family Stories as Inspiration for Historical Fiction

Family Stories as Inspiration for Historical Fiction

When writing fiction, there's always a fine line between reality and make-believe. Debut author Kirstin Beck explains how her family's history became the seed for her novel Courage, My Love.

April PAD Challenge

2021 April PAD Challenge: Day 22

Write a poem every day of April with the 2021 April Poem-A-Day Challenge. For today's prompt, write a nature poem.

The Past Is Never Past: Drawing on Personal History to Write Engaging Historical Fiction

The Past Is Never Past: Drawing on Personal History to Write Engaging Historical Fiction

New York Times bestselling author Karen White discusses what drew her to writing historical fiction and how she uses a modern setting to explore history.

Writing Multiple Timelines and Points of View

Writing Multiple Timelines and Points of View

YA author Natalie Lund gives her top reasons why writers who might be afraid to play with multiple timelines and/or points of view should jump in feet first.

Alexander Weinstein: On Writing a Thematic Short Story Collection

Alexander Weinstein: On Writing a Thematic Short Story Collection

Author Alexander Weinstein discusses how he came to select the theme of his new short story collection, Universal Love, and what it was like to see those themes reflected in the real world.

April PAD Challenge

2021 April PAD Challenge: Day 21

Write a poem every day of April with the 2021 April Poem-A-Day Challenge. For today's prompt, write a blank me poem.

4 Tips for Writing about Family Grudges

4 Tips for Writing about Family Grudges

Author Samantha Downing discusses the techniques she used when writing her literary novel He Started It, which focuses on family secrets, old grudges, and lots of scores to settle.

W.A. Winter: On the Joys of Writing Crime Fiction

W.A. Winter: On the Joys of Writing Crime Fiction

Crime and suspense author W.A. Winter discusses why he decided on fiction over true crime for his latest novel, The Secret Lives of Dentists, and how writing this book brought him joy.