Skip to main content

Mark Spencer

Mark Spencer is the author of several books, including the novels An Untimely Frost, The Weary Motel, Ghost Walking, The Masked Demon, Love and Reruns in Adams County; the bestselling nonfiction novel A Haunted Love Story (basis for episodes of five TV shows); and the short fiction collections Wedlock and Trespassers. His work has received the Faulkner Award for the Novel, The Omaha Prize for the Novel, The Bradshaw Book Award, the Cairn Short Fiction Award, and four Special Mentions in Pushcart Prize: Best of the Small Presses. He is Dean of the School of Arts and Humanities at the University of Arkansas at Monticello and Professor of English in the MFA program in Creative Writing. He has taught a variety of courses for Writer’s Digest University since 1989. He can be reached at