Skip to main content

The Winners of the 26th Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards

Writer’s Digest would like to congratulate our 26th annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards winners!

Writer’s Digest would like to congratulate our 26th annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards winners! For full coverage of the awards, please check out the March/April 2019 issue of Writer’s Digest, and enter the 27th annual Writer's Digest Self-Published Book Awards here.

Grand Prize

Image placeholder title

Breaking Vases: Shattering Limitations & Daring to Thrive by Dima Ghawi ($18.95) Dima Ghawi LLC. breakingvases.com.

Read an interview With WD’s 26th Annual Self-Published Book Awards Winner Dima Ghawi.

Children’s Books

First Place

Image placeholder title

Little Rosa by Mr. E and Colette Alexandratos (illustrator) ($9.65) Perky Penguin Press.

Honorable Mentions

The Inn at the Edge of the World by Jeremy J. Gritton ($9.24) Mascot Books.

The Prince of Twindleland by Mary Rhee and Elisa Chavarri (illustrator) ($8.60) Outskirts Press. outskirtspress.com/ThePrinceofTwindleland.

Genre Fiction

First Place

Image placeholder title

Death by Armoire by Albert A. Bell, Jr. ($16.95) Claystone Books. albertbell.com.

Honorable Mentions

A Promise to Keep by Christina Tetreault ($6). christinatetreault.com.

Ardmore Green, A Zeke Traynor Mystery by Jeff Siebold ($12.99). jeffsiebold.net.

Death's Intern by D.C. Gomez ($9.95). dcgomez-author.com.

Guilt Trip by Donna Huston Murray ($7.46). donnahustonmurray.com.

Mattie by Betty Willis ($15). bettywillis.com.

My Interview With Beethoven by L.A Hider Jones ($17.99) CreateSpace. lahiderjones.com.

One Must Kill Another by Marcus Alexander Hart ($12.99) Canaby Press. oldpalmarcus.com.

Silent Gavel by Merissa Racine ($12.99) Wind Driven Press. merissaracine.com.

The Immorality Clause by Brian Parker ($12.99) Muddy Boots Press.

The Zeta Grey War: The Event by David F. Capps ($19.95) Clearwater Valley Press. dfcapps.com.

Unhaunted: A White Crow Mystery by Trisha Slay ($14.99) Lost Hollow Press. trishaslay.com.

Inspirational

First Place

Image placeholder title

Crawling Out by Casey Morley ($14.97) BalboaPress. caseymorley.com.

Honorable Mentions

Coloring Outside The Lines: A Woman's Journey to the Best Version of Herself by Dr. Brandie Gowey and Andi Kleinman (illustrator) ($25) NI Press.

A Beautiful Morning: How a Morning Ritual Can Feed Your Soul and Transform Your Life by Ashley Ellington Brown ($14.07) Leo Press. abeautifulmorningbook.com.

Life Stories

First Place

Image placeholder title

The House on Dale Street: My Time in Red Boiling Springs, Tennessee by Steve Salem Evans ($10).

Honorable Mentions

Honey Farm Dreaming by Anna Featherstone ($19) CapeAble Publishing. annafeatherstone.com.

I Live in a Chickenhouse by Max B. Heppner maxbheppner.ipage.com.

I’m a Little Brain Dead by Kimberly Davis Basso ($11.99).

Thunderstruck Fiddle by Leslie Askwith ($17.95) Blurb. leslieaskwith.com.

Victim to Victory by Heather Ferri ($16.95) Christian Faith Publishing. heatherferri.com.

Mainstream/Literary Fiction

First Place

Image placeholder title

The Moon Daughter by Zohreh Ghahremani ($14.95) Turquoise Books. zoeghahremani.com.

Honorable Mentions

Anatomy of a Felon by January Joyce ($11.99) CreateSpace.

Code Billy by Ben Huber ($14.99).

Fathers’ Day by HJ Brennan ($13.99). hjbrennan.com.

Outlaws by Edmund Fairfax ($16.95) Bokos. edmundfairfax.com.

Promises by Dennis Rowe ($16.99) Tate Publishing.

The Last Suttee by Madhu Bazaz Wangu ($14.99). madhubazazwangu.com.

The Painter’s Apprentice by Laura Morelli ($16.49) The Scriptorium. lauramorelli.com.

Truly Are the Free by Jeffrey K. Walker ($14.95). jeffreykwalker.com.

Middle-Grade/Young Adult

First Place

Image placeholder title

Aging Out by L. Lee Shaw ($4.10) Boho Books.

Honorable Mention

Faster Than Falling: The Skylighter Adventures by Nathan Van Coops ($13.99) Skylighter Press. nathanvancoops.com

Girl With Cat (Blue) by Sam Hawksmoor ($13.95) CreateSpace. samhawksmoor.com.

Idiot Genius: Willa Snap and the Clockwerk Boy by Richard Due ($7.44) Gibbering Gnome Press. willasnap.com.

War on a Sunday Morning by Teresa R. Funke ($7.95) Victory House Press. teresafunke.com.

Nonfiction/Reference

First Place

Image placeholder title

Designing Poppers, Sliders & Divers by Steven B. Schwitzer ($44.95) Pixachrome Publishing. pixachrome.com.

Honorable Mentions

Artful Color in Nuno Felt by Beverly Ash Gilbert ($29.99). beverlyashgilbert.com.

Bandstand Diaries: The Philadelphia Years by Sharon Sultan Cutler, Arlene Sullivan and Ray Smith ($30.00) Coney Island Press. bandstanddiaries.com.

Behind the Lines by Jeffrey B. Miller ($18.95) Milbrown Press.

Poetry

First Place

Image placeholder title

Of Magic and Madness by KV Thompson ($12) CreateSpace. ofmagicandmadness.com.

Honorable Mentions

Peace in Pieces by Peggy Belles ($14.99).

Two Ends of a Loose String by John S. Gilbertson ($11.10) Main Street Rag.

Image placeholder title
November PAD Chapbook Challenge

2022 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 28

For the 2022 November PAD Chapbook Challenge, poets are tasked with writing a poem a day in the month of November before assembling a chapbook manuscript in the month of December. Day 28 is remix time.

Brian Lee Durfee: On Finishing a Fantasy Trilogy

Brian Lee Durfee: On Finishing a Fantasy Trilogy

Artist and author Brian Lee Durfee discusses what it felt like to write the final sentence in his Five Warrior Angels trilogy with his novel, The Lonesome Crown.

writer's digest wd presents

WD Presents: 5 WDU Courses, our Short Short Story Competition, and More!

This week, we're excited to announce 5 WDU courses, our short short story competition deadline, and more!

November PAD Chapbook Challenge

2022 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 27

For the 2022 November PAD Chapbook Challenge, poets are tasked with writing a poem a day in the month of November before assembling a chapbook manuscript in the month of December. Day 27 is all about resolutions.

Willaims, 11:26

Preslaysa Williams: On Finding Hope in Romance

Award-winning author Preslaysa Williams discusses the process of writing her new romance novel, A Sweet Lowcountry Proposal.

November PAD Chapbook Challenge

2022 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 26

For the 2022 November PAD Chapbook Challenge, poets are tasked with writing a poem a day in the month of November before assembling a chapbook manuscript in the month of December. Day 26 requires a second thought.

12 Books That Make Perfect Gifts This Holiday Season

12 Books That Make Perfect Gifts This Holiday Season

Here are 12 books released in 2022 that make perfect gifts this holiday season for the reader in your life.

Writing a Nonfiction Crime Story in a Literary Style

Writing a Nonfiction Crime Story in a Literary Style

Rigorous research, incorporating  authentic dialogue, and adding details from true-to-life moments, author Deborah Larkin shares how she wrote a nonfiction crime story in a literary style.

November PAD Chapbook Challenge

2022 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 25

For the 2022 November PAD Chapbook Challenge, poets are tasked with writing a poem a day in the month of November before assembling a chapbook manuscript in the month of December. Day 25 gets serious.