17+ Suspense Stories to Read at Halloween

Get in the Halloween mood by reading these suspense stories recommended by WD Senior Editor, Amy Jones.
Author:
Publish date:

Get in the Halloween mood by reading these suspense stories recommended by WD Senior Editor, Amy Jones.

I can’t watch horror movies and I can’t read horror books. The jump-out-to-try-to-scare-the-audience/reader tactic works a little too well on me. But, give me a great suspense story or film in the vein of Alfred Hitchcock and I’m sold. I’m talking books that give you an underlying sense of dread, perhaps due to something supernatural (or at least supernatural feeling until it’s explained away in the conclusion), or those books where you know things could go very wrong, very quickly.

In these types of suspenseful stories the author creates an atmosphere where the protagonist perhaps loses their ability to think rationally because of unsettling circumstances or ghost stories they're told, but Freddy Kruger and his ilk don’t ever make an appearance. The characters’ own imaginations get the better of them for a period of time and readers come away both entertained and amazed at the tricks the mind can play on otherwise rational people.

suspense storie

This Halloween, curl up with one of these unsettling, perhaps discomforting, suspense stories. No one will jump out and yell “Gotcha!” But you may think twice about the scratching at the window or the sound behind the door.

Note, these are categorized based on what made these books suspenseful or unsettling to me. Many could fit into multiple categories but I like the idea of reading books from the same categories back to back to compare how similar elements worked differently either by different authors, or by the same author writing a new story.

Learn the difference between surprise and suspense and how to incorporate them in your own writing in this post by Jane K. Cleland.

Suspenseful Settings

With these books, it’s the setting that sets the tone. Large manors set in remote locations—think Downton Abbey with ghosts.

suspense stories

The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

[We use affiliate links.]

suspense stories

The Missing Years by Lexie Elliott

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

Suspenseful Happenings

With these books, people (or animals) start acting oddly or strange things happen in an otherwise normal setting. What’s making them act this way?

suspense stories

The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

suspense stories

Arthur and George by Julian Barnes

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

suspense stories

The Italian by Ann Radcliffe

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

suspense stories

Black Dogs by Ian McEwan

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

Suspense Based on Myths and Legends

What is a Halloween reading list without a reference to Dracula? Give it a read or re-read and then read The Historian—you’re in for a treat!

suspense stories

Dracula by Bram Stoker

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

suspense stories

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

suspense stories

The Shadow Land by Elizabeth Kostova

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

suspense stories

The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

Suspenseful Science and Nature

In these books it seems science and nature have collided and the effects on the people and locales are highly unsettling (and I mean that as a compliment!).

suspense stories

Wanderers by Chuck Wendig

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

suspense stories

Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

Suspenseful Magical Realism

Haruki Murakami is a master of magical realism. In both of these, characters are going about their normal lives when suddenly the subway station isn’t a normal subway station (in 1Q84) and noises are heard from a well that’s been sealed for decades (Killing Commendatore). Don’t be turned off by the length of these books—they’re page-turners that will certainly keep you up past your bedtime.

suspense stories

Killing Commendatore by Haruki Murakami

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

suspense stories

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

Bonus- Suspenseful Short Stories

If you just need a quick scary story to get you in the mood before trick-or-treaters visit your door, these short stories are the way to go. Shirley Jackson and Edgar Allan Poe are the obvious choices so I’d encourage you to try Elizabeth Bowen first. “The Cat Jumps” in particular gives me the creeps. And I love it!

suspense stories

Short Stories by Elizabeth Bowen, specifically

“The Cat Jumps”

“The Demon Lover”

“Look at All Those Roses”

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

suspense stories

“The Lottery” by Shirley Jackson

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

suspense stories

The Stories of Edgar Allan Poe

IndieBoundBarnes and Noble | Books a Million | Amazon

Up the spooky in your writing game with this online tutorial from Phil Athans.

April PAD Challenge

2021 April PAD Challenge: Day 20

Write a poem every day of April with the 2021 April Poem-A-Day Challenge. For today's prompt, write a Love and/or Anti-Love poem.

Stationery vs. Stationary (Grammar Rules)

Stationary vs. Stationery (Grammar Rules)

Learn the differences of stationary and stationery on with Grammar Rules from the Writer's Digest editors, including a few examples of correct usages.

Erik Larson Quote

Liminal Spaces: A Profile of Erik Larson

WD gives a peek at the daily routine of Erik Larson and the writing process behind his bestselling narrative nonfiction in this Nov/Dec 2020 profile by Zachary Petit.

Jennifer Boresz Engelking: On Giving Readers a New Appreciation of History

Jennifer Boresz Engelking: On Giving Readers a New Appreciation of History

Debut author Jennifer Boresz Engelking discusses what led her to write her historical nonfiction book Hidden History of Lake County Ohio and how research gave her a new appreciation for her hometown.

April PAD Challenge

2021 April PAD Challenge: Day 19

Write a poem every day of April with the 2021 April Poem-A-Day Challenge. For today's prompt, write an animal title poem.

Writer's Digest May/June 2021 Cover Reveal

Writer's Digest May/June 2021 Cover Reveal

Presenting the May/June 2021 issue of Writer's Digest featuring a collection of articles about how curiosity fuels writers, including the 23rd Annual 101 Best Websites for Writers and a new interview with Chris Bohjalian.

Through Another’s Eyes: An Auschwitz Survivor Inspires His Biographer

Through Another’s Eyes: An Auschwitz Survivor Inspires His Biographer

Popular lecturer and biographer Joshua M. Greene discusses the hardship of writing the biographies of Holocaust survivors, and the biography that convinced him to continue writing.

writer's digest wd presents

WD Presents: The May/June 2021 Issue, a Chance at Publication, and more!

This week, we’re excited to announce that the May/June 2021 “Curiosity” issue is now live in the WD shop, there’s still time to have your From Our Reader’s response selected for publication in the July/August 2021 “Bravery” issue, and more!

April PAD Challenge

2021 April PAD Challenge: Day 18

Write a poem every day of April with the 2021 April Poem-A-Day Challenge. For today's prompt, write an ekphrastic poem.