Congratulations to the winners of the 7th Annual Self-Published E-Book Awards!

Grand Prize

Image placeholder title

Steel Hand, Cold Heart by Rachel Menard (rachelmenard.com)

Fantasy

First Place

Image placeholder title

Willow of Ashes by Ellie Raine (ellieraine.com)

Honorable Mentions

Fog & Mist: The Canens Chronicles, Book 1 by Kelsie Engen (kelsieengen.com/publications)

The Devil's Own: Murphy's Law, Book One by K.A. Fox (imkafox.com)

Science Fiction

In the Slip FD Lee

First Place

In the Slip by F.D. Lee (fdlee.co.uk)

Honorable Mentions

Falcon's Call by Mike Waller (mikewallerauthor.com/falconscall)

Andre's Reboot: Striving to Save Humanity by Steve Coleman (andretherobot.com)

Romance

Image placeholder title

First Place

Moti on the Water by Leylah Attar (leylahattar.com)

Honorable Mentions

Fire Trucks, Garter Belts, & My Perfect Ex by Heather Novak (heathernovak.net)

Love, Chocolate, and a Dog Named Al Capone by Wende Dikec

Contemporary Fiction

Image placeholder title

First Place

The Chocolate Shop by J.J Spring (jjspringbooks.com)

Honorable Mentions

The Trial of Connor Padget by Carl Roberts (authorcarlroberts.com)

The Devil's Fortune by Amy Schisler (amyschislerauthor.com)

Young Adult

Image placeholder title

First Place

Finn's Clock by Dean Whitlock (deanwhitlock.com)

Honorable Mentions

Ember Burning: Trinity Forest Book 1 by Jennifer Alsever (trinityforestseries.com)

F'lorna of Rodesh by Alisa Hope Wagner (alisahopewagner.com)

Memoir

Image placeholder title

First Place

Don't Come Back by Adam Fletcher (adam-fletcher.co.uk)

Honorable Mentions

Private Lucky by Melissa Guzzetta (privatelucky.com)

Don't Mind Me, I'm Just Having a Bad Life: A Memoir by Lewis Kempfer (lewiskempfer.com)

Mystery/Thriller

Image placeholder title

First Place

The Loggerhead Murders by Georgia Ann Mullen (georgiamullen.com)

Honorable Mentions

CELTIC KNOT: A Clara Swift Tale by Ann Shortell (annshortell.com)

The Green Ribbon Murder by Sharon Cowen

Ship Bottom Blues by Daniel J. Waters (bandagemanpress.com)

Nonfiction

First Place

Image placeholder title

Dark Nights of the Soul: Reflections on Faith and the Depressed Brain by David Anderson (davidandersontheauthor.com)

Honorable Mentions

Retail: The Second-Oldest Profession, 7 Timeless Principles to WIN in Retail Today by Flora Delaney (floradelaney.com)

Re-learning the ABC With Mamma by Cynthia Rodrigues (cynthology.blogspot.com/2019/03/re-learning-abc-with-mamma-now.html)

The Mystery Shopper Training Program by Bethany Mooradian (workathomefaq.com)

Writing Mistakes Writers Make: Chasing Trends

Writing Mistakes Writers Make: Chasing Trends

The Writer's Digest team has witnessed many writing mistakes over the years, so this series helps identify them for other writers (along with correction strategies). This week's writing mistake is chasing trends in writing and publishing.

Lessons Learned From Self-Publishing My Picture Book

Lessons Learned From Self-Publishing My Picture Book

Author Dawn Secord shares her journey toward self-publishing a picture book featuring her Irish Setter named Bling.

Poetic Forms

Crown of Sonnets: Poetic Forms

Poetic Form Fridays are made to share various poetic forms. This week, we look at the crown of sonnets, a form that brings together seven sonnets in a special way.

25 Ways Reflective Writing Can Help You Grow as a Writer (and as a Person)

25 Ways Reflective Writing Can Help You Grow as a Writer (And as a Person)

Reflective writing—or journaling—is a helpful practice in helping understand ourselves, and by extensions, the stories we intend to write. Author Jeanne Baker Guy offers 25 ways reflective writing can help you grow as a writer (and as a person).

Plot Twist Story Prompts: Being Followed

Plot Twist Story Prompts: Being Followed

Every good story needs a nice (or not so nice) turn or two to keep it interesting. This week, let your character know they're being followed.

Amanda Jayatissa: On Spiraling Out in Suspense

Amanda Jayatissa: On Spiraling Out in Suspense

Author Amanda Jayatissa discusses the fun of writing "deliciously mean" characters in her psychological thriller, My Sweet Girl.

3 Tips for Writing a Memoir Everyone Wants to Read

3 Tips for Writing a Memoir Everyone Wants to Read

A memoir is an open window into another's life—and although the truth is of paramount importance, so too is grabbing hold of its reader. Writer Tasha Keeble offers 3 tips for writing a memoir everyone will want to read.

Zoe Whittall: On Personal Change in Literary Fiction

Zoe Whittall: On Personal Change in Literary Fiction

Bestselling and Giller Prize-shortlisted author Zoe Whittal discusses the complexity of big life decisions in her new novel, The Spectacular.

Poetry Prompt

Wednesday Poetry Prompts: 582

Every Wednesday, Robert Lee Brewer shares a prompt and an example poem to get things started on the Poetic Asides blog. This week, write a transition poem.