Skip to main content

Congratulations to the winners of the 7th Annual Self-Published E-Book Awards!

Grand Prize

Image placeholder title

Steel Hand, Cold Heart by Rachel Menard (rachelmenard.com)

Fantasy

First Place

Image placeholder title

Willow of Ashes by Ellie Raine (ellieraine.com)

Honorable Mentions

Fog & Mist: The Canens Chronicles, Book 1 by Kelsie Engen (kelsieengen.com/publications)

The Devil's Own: Murphy's Law, Book One by K.A. Fox (imkafox.com)

Science Fiction

In the Slip FD Lee

First Place

In the Slip by F.D. Lee (fdlee.co.uk)

Honorable Mentions

Falcon's Call by Mike Waller (mikewallerauthor.com/falconscall)

Andre's Reboot: Striving to Save Humanity by Steve Coleman (andretherobot.com)

Romance

Image placeholder title

First Place

Moti on the Water by Leylah Attar (leylahattar.com)

Honorable Mentions

Fire Trucks, Garter Belts, & My Perfect Ex by Heather Novak (heathernovak.net)

Love, Chocolate, and a Dog Named Al Capone by Wende Dikec

Contemporary Fiction

Image placeholder title

First Place

The Chocolate Shop by J.J Spring (jjspringbooks.com)

Honorable Mentions

The Trial of Connor Padget by Carl Roberts (authorcarlroberts.com)

The Devil's Fortune by Amy Schisler (amyschislerauthor.com)

Young Adult

Image placeholder title

First Place

Finn's Clock by Dean Whitlock (deanwhitlock.com)

Honorable Mentions

Ember Burning: Trinity Forest Book 1 by Jennifer Alsever (trinityforestseries.com)

F'lorna of Rodesh by Alisa Hope Wagner (alisahopewagner.com)

Memoir

Image placeholder title

First Place

Don't Come Back by Adam Fletcher (adam-fletcher.co.uk)

Honorable Mentions

Private Lucky by Melissa Guzzetta (privatelucky.com)

Don't Mind Me, I'm Just Having a Bad Life: A Memoir by Lewis Kempfer (lewiskempfer.com)

Mystery/Thriller

Image placeholder title

First Place

The Loggerhead Murders by Georgia Ann Mullen (georgiamullen.com)

Honorable Mentions

CELTIC KNOT: A Clara Swift Tale by Ann Shortell (annshortell.com)

The Green Ribbon Murder by Sharon Cowen

Ship Bottom Blues by Daniel J. Waters (bandagemanpress.com)

Nonfiction

First Place

Image placeholder title

Dark Nights of the Soul: Reflections on Faith and the Depressed Brain by David Anderson (davidandersontheauthor.com)

Honorable Mentions

Retail: The Second-Oldest Profession, 7 Timeless Principles to WIN in Retail Today by Flora Delaney (floradelaney.com)

Re-learning the ABC With Mamma by Cynthia Rodrigues (cynthology.blogspot.com/2019/03/re-learning-abc-with-mamma-now.html)

The Mystery Shopper Training Program by Bethany Mooradian (workathomefaq.com)

Poetic Forms

Saraband: Poetic Forms

Poetic Form Fridays are made to share various poetic forms. This week, we look at the saraband, a septet (or seven-line) form based on a forbidden dance.

Karen Hamilton: On Cause and Effect

Karen Hamilton: On Cause and Effect

International bestselling author Karen Hamilton discusses the “then and now” format of her new domestic thriller, The Ex-Husband.

Plot Twist Story Prompts: The Ultimatum

Plot Twist Story Prompts: The Ultimatum

Every good story needs a nice (or not so nice) turn or two to keep it interesting. This week, have a character give or face an ultimatum.

6 Things Every Writer Should Know About Sylvia Beach and Shakespeare and Company

6 Things Every Writer Should Know About Sylvia Beach and Shakespeare and Company

Sylvia Beach was friend to many writers who wrote what we consider classics today. Here, author Kerri Maher shares six things everyone should know about her and Shakespeare and Company.

How Writers Can Apply Business Tools to Their Writing

How Writers Can Apply Business Tools to Their Writing

Author Katherine Quevedo takes an analytical look at the creative process in hopes to help other writers find writing success.

Nick Petrie: On Following the Most Compelling Story

Nick Petrie: On Following the Most Compelling Story

Award-winning author Nick Petrie discusses how he listened to the story that wanted to be told in his new Peter Ash thriller novel, The Runaway.

Poetry Prompt

Wednesday Poetry Prompts: 596

Every Wednesday, Robert Lee Brewer shares a prompt and an example poem to get things started on the Poetic Asides blog. This week, write a punishment poem.

Jacquelyn Mitchard: On Forgiveness in Fiction

Jacquelyn Mitchard: On Forgiveness in Fiction

Award-winning novelist Jacquelyn Mitchard discusses the chance meeting that led to her new novel, The Good Son.

Sea Bound

Sea Bound

Every writer needs a little inspiration once in a while. For today's prompt, write about someone connected to the sea.