Publish date:

21st Annual Writer's Digest Self-Published Book Awards Winners

Writer’s Digest would like to congratulate the winners of the 21st Annual Self-Published Book Awards!

GRAND PRIZE
Zero Chance of Passage: The Pioneering Charter School Story
by Ember Reichgott Junge ($20). Beaver’s Pond Press and Charter Schools Development Corporation. Email: ember@visi.com. Web: zerochanceofpassage.com.

CHILDREN’S PICTURE BOOKS
First Place:
Gertrude’s Green Hat
by Alex J. Stokas and Christina Siravo (Illustrator) ($9.95). Wordlighter Press. Email: wordlighter@hotmail.com. Web: alexjstokas.com.

Honorable Mentions:
The Potato Chip Champ: Discovering Why Kindness Coutns
by Maria Dismondy and Dawn Beacon (Illustrator) ($10.95). Maria Dismondy, Inc. Email: info@mariadismondy.com. Web: mariadismondy.com.

The Adventures of Red Feather: Wild Horse of Corolla
by Linda Whittington Hurst and Erin E.I. Casteel (Illustrator) ($15.95). Wild Pony Press. Email: linda@lindawhurst.com. Web: lindawhittingtonhurst.net.

Rainbow the Funky Chicken
by Marna Irby and Fran Sanderlin (Illustrator) ($14.95). Mascot Books.

GENRE FICTION
First Place:
Sapphire Trails
by Marilyn Jax ($26). Beaver’s Pond Press. Email: info@marilynjax.com. Web: marilynjax.com.

Honorable Mentions:
Lily of the Springs
by Carole Bellacera ($16.99). CreateSpace. Web: carolebellacera.com.

Rest Her Soul, a James Buckner novel
by Christopher C. Gibbs ($16.95). iUniverse.

Dreamer’s Island
by Gretchen Hummel ($21.95). iUniverse. Web: gretchenhummel.com.

Murder in One Take
by April Kelly and Marsha Lyons ($12.95). Flight Risk Books. Email: flightriskbooks@gmail.com. Web: flightriskbooks.com.

Centerline
by Dave McIntyre ($15.95). Narrative. Email: narrativeLLC@aol.com. Web: centerlinethebook.com.

Great News Town
by Sue Merrell ($17.95). Lulu. Web: suemerrellbooks.com.

Kiss Me Awake
by Julie Momyer ($13.99). Goody 2 Shoes Publications. Email: momyer@live.com. Web: juliemomyer.com.

Baby Grand
by Dina Santorelli ($13.95). Stonesong. Email: dina@dinasantorelli.com. Web: dinasantorelli.com.

INSPIRATIONAL
First Place:
Wildflowers in the Median: A Restorative Journey into Healing, Justice, and Joy
by Agnes Furey and Leonard Scovens ($12.95). iUniverse. Email: agnesfurey@gmail.com. Web: wildflowersinthemedian.com.

Honorable Mentions:
Eaten by the Tiger: Surrendering to an Empowered Life
by Emile Allen, M.D. ($21.99). Inspire on Purpose. Web: eatenbythetiger.com.

Lily: A Gray Whale’s Odyssey
by “Capt. Dave” Anderson ($45). Lucid Dreamer Productions. Email: captdave@cox.net. Web: talesfromthepod.com.

Pope Annalisa
by Peter Canova ($26.95). Trimountaine Publishing. Web: popeannalisa.com.

Lessons From a Pair of Old Gloves 
by Scott Franko ($20). Scott Franko Design and Publishing. Email: scott@frankodesign.com. Web: frankodesign.com.

LIFE STORIES
First Place:
Border Crossings: Coming of Age in the Czech Resistance
by Charles Novacek ($18). 1021 Press. Email: sn@charlesnovacekbooks.com. Web: charlesnovacekbooks.com.

Honorable Mentions:
Forever Exposed: The Nikki Catsouras Story
by Lesli Catsouras ($14.95). Dog Ear Publishing. Email: info@foreverexposed.com. Web: foreverexposed.com.

North of Hollywood
by Rick Lenz ($23.95). Chromodroid Press. Email: ricknlinda@roadrunner.com. Web: ricklenzauthor.com

Love at the Speed of Email
by Lisa McKay ($12.95). Karinya Publishing. Email: lisamckaywriting@gmail.com. Web: lisamckaywriting.com.

My Extraordinary Life
by Monica Sucha Vickers ($19.99). Xlibris. Web: monicasuchavickers.com.

MAINSTREAM FICTION
First Place:
You Are Here
by Chris Delyani ($19.95). iUniverse. Email: cdelyani@gmail.com. Web: chrisdelyani.com.

Honorable Mentions:
The Debt of Tamar
by Nicole Dweck ($14.99). Devon House Press. Web: nicoledweck.com.

The Last English Village
by James Ignizio ($11.99). CreateSpace. Web: lastenglishvillage.com.

Warming Up
by Mary Hutchings Reed ($16.95). She Writes Press. Web: maryhutchingsreed.com.

Tragedy and Triumph
by Kathrin Rudland ($16.95). iUniverse.

The Hobbyist
by Darryl Shelly ($13.99). Bexley Press. Email: info@bexleypress.com. Web: darrylshelly.com.

Nikolai Returns
by Michael G. Tanner ($10.99). Telemachus Press. Web: michaeltannerbooks.com.

Imperfect Pairings
by Jackie Townsend ($11.99). Ripetta Press. Email: info@ripettapress.com. Web: jackietownsend.com.

The Prescribed Burn: A Collection of Stories
by Laryssa Wirstiuk ($17.95). Painted Egg Press. Email: laryssa@theprescribedburn.com. Web: theprescribedburn.com.

MIDDLE-GRADE/YOUNG ADULT
First Place:
There Are No Buffalo in Buffalo
by Sally Valentine and Suzanne Valentine (Illustrator) ($14.95). Pyramid Publishing. Email: RochesterAuthor@hotmail.com Web: rochesterauthor.com.

Honorable Mentions:
Arrow of the Mist
by Christina Mercer ($10.99). Christina Mercer. Web: christinamercer.com.

Song of the Summer King
by Jess E. Owen ($25). Five Elements Press. Email: jess@fiveelementspress.com. Web: jessowen.com.

Storm of Arranon: Fire and Ice
by R.E. Sheahan ($14.99). Rule of Three Press. Web: stormofarranon.com.

NONFICTION
First Place:
Caroline Severance
by Virginia Elwood-Akers ($25.95). iUniverse. Email: virgoea@aol.com. Web: virginiaelwood-akers.com.

Honorable Mentions:
Rio for Partiers
by Cristiano Nogueira ($24.95). Solcat Editora Publishing. Email: cris@rioforpartiers.com. Web: rioforpartiers.com.

Taming Your Temper: A Workbook for Individuals, Couples, and Groups
by Nathaniel David Smith, MA, NCC, LPC-S ($30). Mental Health Classes LLC. Email: nathaniel@nathanielsmithcounselor.com. Web: nathanielsmithcounselor.com.

POETRY
First Place:
Hopper’s Women
by Kendra Kopelke ($15). Ampersand Press. Email: kkopelke@ubalt.edu.

Honorable Mentions:
The Sail
by Greg Allum. Short Run Press. Email: greg@gregallum.co.uk. Web: gregallum.co.uk.

In This Forest of Monks
by Daniel Skach-Mills ($14.95). Daniel Skach-Mills. Email: skachmills@gmail.com.

REFERENCE
First Place:
Afghan Proverbs Illustrated
by Edward Zellem and the Students of Maretat High School Kabul, Afghanistan (Illustrators) ($18.95). CreateSpace. Email: author@afghanproverbs.com. Web: afghansayings.com.

Honorable Mention:
Armenia and Karabakh
by Matthew Karanian (Author-Photographer) and Robert Kurkjian (Photographer) ($24.95). Stone Garden Productions. Web: armeniatravelguide.com.

For more info on this year's grand prize winner, Ember Reichgott Junge, be sure to check out the March/April 2014 issue of Writer's Digest, as well as her extended interview with us. You can also find more info on the upcoming 22nd Annual Writer's Digest Self-Published Book Awards, as well as other Writer's Digest competitions.

March/April 2014 Writer's Digest
The Differences in Writing a Memoir vs. a Novel

The Differences in Writing a Memoir vs. a Novel

Where fiction writing is about concealing emotional truth for interpretation, memoir is about exposing it for what it is. Writer Jenna Blum discusses the differences she experienced in writing a memoir vs. a novel.

17 Pros and Cons of Traditional Publishing vs. Self-Publishing

17 Pros and Cons of Traditional Publishing vs. Self-Publishing

When choosing your publishing journey, it's important to weigh the potential benefits and drawbacks in order to make the right decision for you and your work. Author Rick Lauber lays out 17 pros and cons of traditional publishing vs. self-publishing.

Spooky Season

Scary Season

Every writer needs a little inspiration once in a while. For today's prompt, write something that has to do with the scary season!

Parker, 10:26

Christopher Parker: On Learning to Let Go in the Publishing Process

Author Christopher Parker discusses how he celebrated small victories in writing his debut novel, The Lighthouse.

NovemberDecember2021CoverReveal

Writer's Digest November/December 2021 Cover Reveal

Revealing the November/December 2021 issue of Writer's Digest: Magical Writing. Featuring advice from R.F. Kuang, Alix E. Harrow, Maggie Stiefvater, Tobias Buckell, Ran Walker, and many more.

The Lane Report: Market Spotlight

The Lane Report: Market Spotlight

For this week's market spotlight, we look at The Lane Report, the business publication of Kentucky.

Exercise vs. Exorcise (Grammar Rules)

Exercise vs. Exorcise (Grammar Rules)

Let's look at the differences between exercise and exorcise with Grammar Rules from the Writer's Digest editors, including a few examples of correct usages.

Your Story #115

Your Story #115

Write a short story of 650 words or fewer based on the photo prompt. You can be poignant, funny, witty, etc.; it is, after all, your story.

writer's digest wd presents

WD Presents: 5 New WDU Course, A New Webinar, and More!

This week, we’re excited to announce five new WDU courses, a new webinar, and more!