24th Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards Winners

Author:
Publish date:

Writer’s Digest would like to congratulate the 46 winners of the 24th Annual Self-Published Book Awards. For full coverage of the awards, check out the March/April 2017 issue of Writer’s Digest. Click here for an extended Q&A with the grand-prize winner, Tabitha Lord.

12561-SelfPub-icon

Grand Prize

Horizon by Tabitha Lord. $15.95. Wise Ink Creative Publishing. tabithalordauthor.com.

Children’s Picture Books

First Place

Vroom-Town: The Adventure of Tim the Tipper in Quentin’s Quarry by Emer Conlon. $18.98. Essential Marketing Ltd. vroom-town.ie.

Honorable Mentions

Frieda B. and the Finkledee Ink by Renata Bowers and Michael Chesworth (illustrator). $15. Frieda B. LLC. friedab.com.

The Growing Sweater by Jason J. Marchi and Ben Quesnel (illustrator). $16. Omicron World Entertainment LLC Fahrenheit Books. jasonjmarchi.com.

Genre Fiction

First Place

Impala by Andrew Diamond ($14.99). Stolen Time Press. adiamond.me.

Honorable Mentions

Open Source by Anna L. Davis. $15.95. Anna L. Davis. annaldavis.net.

Dead on the Dock by Beth Everett. $13.95. Beth Fernandez. beth-everett.com.

When Doves Fly by Lauren Gregory. $14.99. Echo Mountain Publishing. authorlaurengregory.com.

Hidden Magic: The Portal Opens by C.C. Rae. $19.95. iUniverse. ccrae.com.

Cold Blooded by Lisa Regan. $15.99. Prodorutti Books. lisaregan.com.

Behind the Mask by Dana Ridenour. $14.99. Wise Ink Creative Publishing. danaridenour.net.

Resort Isle by Paul Sekulich. $15.95. Omnibus Productions. mdnovelist.com.

Wild Justice by Linda Hebert Todd. $14.95. Bald Cypress Publishing. lindaheberttodd.com.

Argent by Baird Wells. $12.99. Two Birds Ink. bairdwells.com.

Lords of Asylum by Kevin Wright. $22.00. G & G Books.

Inspirational

First Place

Them: The Richer Life Found in Caring for Others by John Certalic. $15.95. HenschelHAUS Publishing Inc. missionary-care.org.

Honorable Mentions

Burning: Passionate Prayers for Men on Fire by W. Neil Gallagher, PhD. $16.95. Brown Christian press. neilgallagherbooks.com.

The Would-Be Medium: My Ten-Year Journey as a Workshop Junkie by Rena Huisman. $15.27. Balboa Press. renahuisman.com.

My Forgotten Self: A Story About a Girl, a Powerful Encounter and a Universal Message by Lynyetta G. Willis, PhD, and Michele Phillips (illustrator). $10.95. Inner Pathways Publishing LLC. myforgottenself.com.

Life Stories

First Place

The Letter Project by Sharon Barbara. $19.95. iUniverse.

Honorable Mentions

Naked: Stripped by a Man and Hurricane Katrina by Julie Freed. $14.99. Delta Freed. juliefreedauthor.com.

A Serious and Proper Education: Misadventures at an English Boarding School by Alan Holmes. $16.00. CreateSpace.

Not in a Tuscan Villa by John and Nancy Petralia. $16.96. Chartiers Creek Press LLC. notinatuscanvilla.com.

Death Becomes Us by Pamela Skjolsvik. $12.99. CreateSpace. pamelaskjolsvik.net.

Conversations Loosely Translated: A Story of Koshkonong Prairie Pioneers by Karen S. Swensson. $14.95. CreateSpace.

Mainstream/Literary Fiction

First Place

Promises by Dennis Rowe. $16.99. Tate Publishing LLC. promises-dennisrowe.tateauthor.com.

Honorable Mentions

Codename Cupcake by Jillian Green DiGiacomo. $12.95. CreateSpace. jilliangreendigiacomo.com.

Comfort Zone by Jim Flanagan. $14.95. CreateSpace. comfortzonenovel.com.

Melting the Blues by Tracy Chiles McGhee. $15.99. Gold Fern Press. tracychilesmcghee.us.

Then Like the Blind Man: Orbie’s Story by Freddie Owens. $16.29. CreateSpace. freddieowens.com.

Skipping Across the Rubicon by Martin Seibel. $12.99. Abbott Press.

A Mourning of Remembrance by Stephen Tiedman. $12.99. Niess Impressions.

Ashes on His Boot by Robert Wuench, with Howard Carman. $12.95. Reelfoot Publishing.

The Roses Underneath by C.F. Yetmen. $16.99. Ypsilon & Co. Press. cfyetmen.com.

Middle-Grade/Young Adult Fiction

First Place

Edge the Bare Garden by Roseanne Cheng. $15.00. Wise Ink. teachablelit.com.

Honorable Mentions

The Spanish Club by Danielle Burnette. $14.99. CreateSpace. danielleburnette.com.

Mailbox by Nancy Freund. $20.00. Gobreau Press. nancyfreund.com.

The Warlock & The Wolf by Delfy Hall. $15.95. Vulpes Press. delfyhall.com.

Nonfiction

First Place

15 Years of War by Kristine Schellhaas. $16.99. Life Publishing. kristinespeaks.com.

Honorable Mentions

Salmon From Market to Plate by Marueen C. Berry. $12.95. Berry Consulting. maureencberry.com.

Bill Moss: Fabric Artist & Designer by Marilyn Moss. $65.00. Chawezi. marilynmmoss.com.

Poetry

First Place

Dates and Dreams by E.M. Schorb. $18.95. Hill House New York. emschorb.com.

Honorable Mention

Vanishing Point by Tim Amsden. $12.95. Independent Publisher.

Reference

First Place

Paired, Volume 1: Champagne & Sparkling Wines by Fran Flynn and David Stevens-Castro. $38.00. Paired Media. paired-media.com.

Honorable Mention

Weight Training Without Injury by Fredd Stellabotte and Rachel Straub, M.S., CSCS. $59.99. Regalis Publishing. weighttrainingwoi.com.

Brian Freeman: On "Rebooting" Another Writer's Legacy

Brian Freeman: On "Rebooting" Another Writer's Legacy

In this article, Brian Freeman, author of Robert Ludlum’s The Bourne Treachery, discusses how he took up the mantle of a great series and made it his own.

Sole vs. Soul (Grammar Rules)

Sole vs. Soul (Grammar Rules)

Learn how to distinguish the sole from the soul with Grammar Rules from the Writer's Digest editors, including a few examples of correct usages.

How to Make the Most of a Virtual Writing Workshop or Conference

How to Make the Most of a Virtual Writing Workshop or Conference

In this brave new world of virtual learning and social distance, Kristy Stevenson helps us make the most of the virtual conference.

When Is Historical Accuracy Inaccurate?

When Is Historical Accuracy Inaccurate?

Writers of historical fiction must always ride the line between factual and fictitious. Here, author Terry Roberts discusses how to navigate that line.

What Is Creative Nonfiction in Writing?

What Is Creative Nonfiction in Writing?

In this post, we look at what creative nonfiction (also known as the narrative nonfiction) is, including what makes it different from other types of fiction and nonfiction writing and more.

writer's digest wd presents

WD Presents: Four WDU Courses, a Competition Deadline Reminder, and More!

This week, we’re excited to announce four WDU courses, a Competition deadline reminder, and more!

Funny You Should Ask: What Is Going to Be the Next Big Trend in Fiction?

Funny You Should Ask: What Is Going to Be the Next Big Trend in Fiction?

Funny You Should Ask is a humorous and handy column by literary agent Barbara Poelle. In this edition, she discusses the next big fiction trend, and whether or not all books are the same.

From Script

A Change in Entertainment Business Currency and Disrupting Storytelling with Historical Significance (From Script)

In this week’s round up brought to us by ScriptMag.com, learn about how crypto currency is making a wave in the entertainment business, what percentages really mean in film financing, the pros and cons of writing partnerships, an exclusive interview with three-time NAACP Image Awards nominee, co-creator and former showrunner of CBS’ 'S.W.A.T.' Aaron Rahsaan Thomas and more!

Writing Mistakes Writers Make: Putting Off Submissions

Writing Mistakes Writers Make: Putting Off Submissions

The Writer's Digest team has witnessed many writing mistakes over the years, so we started this series to help identify them for other writers (along with correction strategies). This week's writing mistake is putting off submissions.