24th Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards Winners

Author:
Publish date:

Writer’s Digest would like to congratulate the 46 winners of the 24th Annual Self-Published Book Awards. For full coverage of the awards, check out the March/April 2017 issue of Writer’s Digest. Click here for an extended Q&A with the grand-prize winner, Tabitha Lord.

12561-SelfPub-icon

Grand Prize

Horizon by Tabitha Lord. $15.95. Wise Ink Creative Publishing. tabithalordauthor.com.

Children’s Picture Books

First Place

Vroom-Town: The Adventure of Tim the Tipper in Quentin’s Quarry by Emer Conlon. $18.98. Essential Marketing Ltd. vroom-town.ie.

Honorable Mentions

Frieda B. and the Finkledee Ink by Renata Bowers and Michael Chesworth (illustrator). $15. Frieda B. LLC. friedab.com.

The Growing Sweater by Jason J. Marchi and Ben Quesnel (illustrator). $16. Omicron World Entertainment LLC Fahrenheit Books. jasonjmarchi.com.

Genre Fiction

First Place

Impala by Andrew Diamond ($14.99). Stolen Time Press. adiamond.me.

Honorable Mentions

Open Source by Anna L. Davis. $15.95. Anna L. Davis. annaldavis.net.

Dead on the Dock by Beth Everett. $13.95. Beth Fernandez. beth-everett.com.

When Doves Fly by Lauren Gregory. $14.99. Echo Mountain Publishing. authorlaurengregory.com.

Hidden Magic: The Portal Opens by C.C. Rae. $19.95. iUniverse. ccrae.com.

Cold Blooded by Lisa Regan. $15.99. Prodorutti Books. lisaregan.com.

Behind the Mask by Dana Ridenour. $14.99. Wise Ink Creative Publishing. danaridenour.net.

Resort Isle by Paul Sekulich. $15.95. Omnibus Productions. mdnovelist.com.

Wild Justice by Linda Hebert Todd. $14.95. Bald Cypress Publishing. lindaheberttodd.com.

Argent by Baird Wells. $12.99. Two Birds Ink. bairdwells.com.

Lords of Asylum by Kevin Wright. $22.00. G & G Books.

Inspirational

First Place

Them: The Richer Life Found in Caring for Others by John Certalic. $15.95. HenschelHAUS Publishing Inc. missionary-care.org.

Honorable Mentions

Burning: Passionate Prayers for Men on Fire by W. Neil Gallagher, PhD. $16.95. Brown Christian press. neilgallagherbooks.com.

The Would-Be Medium: My Ten-Year Journey as a Workshop Junkie by Rena Huisman. $15.27. Balboa Press. renahuisman.com.

My Forgotten Self: A Story About a Girl, a Powerful Encounter and a Universal Message by Lynyetta G. Willis, PhD, and Michele Phillips (illustrator). $10.95. Inner Pathways Publishing LLC. myforgottenself.com.

Life Stories

First Place

The Letter Project by Sharon Barbara. $19.95. iUniverse.

Honorable Mentions

Naked: Stripped by a Man and Hurricane Katrina by Julie Freed. $14.99. Delta Freed. juliefreedauthor.com.

A Serious and Proper Education: Misadventures at an English Boarding School by Alan Holmes. $16.00. CreateSpace.

Not in a Tuscan Villa by John and Nancy Petralia. $16.96. Chartiers Creek Press LLC. notinatuscanvilla.com.

Death Becomes Us by Pamela Skjolsvik. $12.99. CreateSpace. pamelaskjolsvik.net.

Conversations Loosely Translated: A Story of Koshkonong Prairie Pioneers by Karen S. Swensson. $14.95. CreateSpace.

Mainstream/Literary Fiction

First Place

Promises by Dennis Rowe. $16.99. Tate Publishing LLC. promises-dennisrowe.tateauthor.com.

Honorable Mentions

Codename Cupcake by Jillian Green DiGiacomo. $12.95. CreateSpace. jilliangreendigiacomo.com.

Comfort Zone by Jim Flanagan. $14.95. CreateSpace. comfortzonenovel.com.

Melting the Blues by Tracy Chiles McGhee. $15.99. Gold Fern Press. tracychilesmcghee.us.

Then Like the Blind Man: Orbie’s Story by Freddie Owens. $16.29. CreateSpace. freddieowens.com.

Skipping Across the Rubicon by Martin Seibel. $12.99. Abbott Press.

A Mourning of Remembrance by Stephen Tiedman. $12.99. Niess Impressions.

Ashes on His Boot by Robert Wuench, with Howard Carman. $12.95. Reelfoot Publishing.

The Roses Underneath by C.F. Yetmen. $16.99. Ypsilon & Co. Press. cfyetmen.com.

Middle-Grade/Young Adult Fiction

First Place

Edge the Bare Garden by Roseanne Cheng. $15.00. Wise Ink. teachablelit.com.

Honorable Mentions

The Spanish Club by Danielle Burnette. $14.99. CreateSpace. danielleburnette.com.

Mailbox by Nancy Freund. $20.00. Gobreau Press. nancyfreund.com.

The Warlock & The Wolf by Delfy Hall. $15.95. Vulpes Press. delfyhall.com.

Nonfiction

First Place

15 Years of War by Kristine Schellhaas. $16.99. Life Publishing. kristinespeaks.com.

Honorable Mentions

Salmon From Market to Plate by Marueen C. Berry. $12.95. Berry Consulting. maureencberry.com.

Bill Moss: Fabric Artist & Designer by Marilyn Moss. $65.00. Chawezi. marilynmmoss.com.

Poetry

First Place

Dates and Dreams by E.M. Schorb. $18.95. Hill House New York. emschorb.com.

Honorable Mention

Vanishing Point by Tim Amsden. $12.95. Independent Publisher.

Reference

First Place

Paired, Volume 1: Champagne & Sparkling Wines by Fran Flynn and David Stevens-Castro. $38.00. Paired Media. paired-media.com.

Honorable Mention

Weight Training Without Injury by Fredd Stellabotte and Rachel Straub, M.S., CSCS. $59.99. Regalis Publishing. weighttrainingwoi.com.

April PAD Challenge

2021 April PAD Challenge: Day 17

Write a poem every day of April with the 2021 April Poem-A-Day Challenge. For today's prompt, write a waiting poem.

GettyImages-119430542

Your Story #112

Write the opening line to a story based on the photo prompt below. (One sentence only.) You can be poignant, funny, witty, etc.; it is, after all, your story.

Self-Published Ebook Awards

Announcing the 8th Annual Self-Published E-book Awards Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 8th Annual Self-Published E-book Awards! Discover the titles that placed in the categories of contemporary fiction, fantasy, memoir, mystery, and more.

Greg Russo: On Writing a Film Based on a Video Game

Greg Russo: On Writing a Screenplay Based on a Video Game

Professional screenwriter Greg Russo discusses the joy and challenge of converting a popular video games series into a screenplay and the balance of enticing a new audience while honoring a franchise's fans.

April PAD Challenge

2021 April PAD Challenge: Day 16

Write a poem every day of April with the 2021 April Poem-A-Day Challenge. For today's prompt, write a city poem.

Plot Twist Story Prompts: Under the Influence

Plot Twist Story Prompts: Under the Influence

Every good story needs a nice (or not so nice) turn or two to keep it interesting. This week, let a character fall under the influence of something or someone.

WD-PersonalEssay-2020-WinnerGraphic

Suspended: Writer's Digest Personal Essay Awards Winner

Congratulations to J.E. Stamper, grand prize winner of the Writer's Digest Personal Essay Awards. Here's his winning essay, "Suspended."

Planting Clues: Red Herrings That Fool but Don't Frustrate Your Readers

Planting Clues: Red Herrings That Fool but Don't Frustrate Your Readers

Want to know how to keep your readers engaged and entertained with your mystery novel? Let these six tips from thriller author Kris Calvin guide you!

April PAD Challenge

2021 April PAD Challenge: Day 15

Write a poem every day of April with the 2021 April Poem-A-Day Challenge. For today's prompt, write a blank story poem.