23rd Annual Writer's Digest Self-Published Book Awards

Author:
Publish date:
WritersDigest-April-2016-Cover

Writer’s Digest would like to congratulate the 46 winners of the 23rd Annual Self-Published Book Awards. For full coverage of the awards, check out the March/April 2016 issue of Writer’s Digest. Click here for an extended Q&A with the grand-prize winner Louise Esola.

Grand Prize

American Boys: The True Story of the Lost 74 of the Vietnam War by Louise Esola ($19.99). Pennway Books. Web: louiseesola.com

Children’s Picture Books

First Place

The Incredible Chapore by Monsieur Odyssey and Jo de Ruiter (illustrator) ($13.69). KAPOW! Publishing

Honorable Mentions

Genevieve and the Moon by Karlene Kay Ryan and Meredith Johnson (illustrator) ($17.99). Web: karlenekayryan.com

The SuperBrother Squad vs. The Aquatic Carrots of Doom by Jenay Sherman and Karolina Skorupska (illustrator) ($12.95). CreateSpace. superbrothersquad.com

Genre Fiction

First Place

Imogene in New Orleansby Hunter Murphy ($15). Rolltop Publishing. Web: huntermurphywriter.com

Honorable Mentions

A Place Between Breaths by Jennifer Froelich ($12.99). CreateSpace. Web: jenniferfroelich.com

Archie and Emma: A Novel Based on Actual People and Events by Brian Mercer ($20.95). Outskirts Press. Web: outskirtspress.com/archieandemma

Blown by Chuck Barrett ($16.95). Switchback Press. Web: chuckbarrettbooks.com

What Doesn’t Kill Youby Donna Huston Murray ($2.99). Web: donnahustonmurray.com

Gwendolyn’s Sword by E. A. Haltom ($16.95). Web: smittenbythewords.blogspot.com

Guarding Angel by S.L. Saboviec ($19.99). Book Design Templates. Web: saboviec.com

Psycho-Tropics by Dorian Box ($15.99). Friction Press. Web: dorianbox.com

Snow Men by Andrew Ceroni ($34.95). Outskirts Press. Web: outskirtspress.com/snowmen

(Un)Sound Mind by Richard Amico ($9.99). 57th Street Press.

Inspirational

First Place

A Beautiful Death by Cheryl Eckl ($14.95). Flying Crane Press. Web: abeautifuldeath.net

Honorable Mentions

Hallelujah: The Story of the Coming Forth of Handel’s Messiah by J. Scott Featherstone ($28). messiah-guide.com/books/featherstone.html

The Hero in Heroin: A Mother and Son’s Journey on Both Sides of the Veil by Mindy Miralia ($18.99). Balboa Press. Web: mindymiralia.com

Rich Kids: How to Raise Our Children to be Happy and Successful in Life by Tom Corley ($16.95). Two Harbors Press. Web: richhabits.net/rich-habits-books

Trusting the Currents by Lynnda Pollio ($16.95). SageHeart Media. Web: sageheart@lynndapollio.com

Life Stories

First Place

Walking to Woot by Jackie Chase ($39.95). Adventure Travel Press. Web: adventuretravelpress.com

Honorable Mentions

I Didn’t Tell Them Anything: The Wartime Secrets of an American Girlby Aleena Rieger ($19.95). Sunpetal Books.

Managing Bubbie by Russel Lazega ($12.95). CreateSpace. Web: facebook.com/Managing-Bubbie

The Bootleg Buggy: Stories of My Polish Family by Tina Lonski ($12.95). Lonski Publishing. storiesofbarns.com/index.html

The Pedestriennes: America’s Forgotten Superstars by Harry Hall ($20). Dogear Publishing. Web: pedestriennes.com

Mainstream Fiction

First Place

Circle of Three by Liesl D. Wilke ($10.99). Spark Arts & Letters. Web: lieslwilke.com/novels.php

Honorable Mentions

A Dance With Hummingbirds by Helen Deines ($16). Berkeley Square Press. Web: helendeines.com

Always Magnolia by Dianna Dann ($15). Wayward Cat Publishing. Web: waywardcatpublishing.com

As the Poppies Bloomed by Maral Boyadjian ($15.95). Salor Press.

Biddy Debeau Rides for His Life by Dan G. Hilton ($14.99). Free Four Five Publishing. Web: dghilton.net

Blue Sun, Yellow Sky by Jamie Jo Hoang ($12.99). Hey Jamie. Web: heyjamie.com

Every by Eric Scott ($2.99). Eric Scott. Web: iamericscott.com/every

Wings of Grace by Weldon B. Durham ($2.99). Friesen Press. Web: weldonbdurham.com

With Arms Unboundby Malcolm Ivey ($13.99). CreateSpace. Web: malcolmivey.com

Middle Grade/Young Adult

First Place

Jim Morgan and the Door at the Edge of the World by James Matlack Raney ($12.99). Web: jamesmraney.com

Honorable Mentions

Becoming the Balance Bringer by Debra Kristi ($16.99). Ghost Girl Publishing. Web: debrakristi.com

Between the Lines by Claudia Whitsitt ($12). Twisted Vines Press. Web: claudiawhitsitt.com

Ice Massacreby Tiana Warner ($14.95). Rogue Cannon Publishing. Web: tianawarner.com

Nonfiction

First Place

Running With the Hounds by David Wingfield and Charles Gillies ($15). David Wingfield and Charles Gillies. Web: runningwiththehounds.org

Honorable Mentions

Faces: Imprisoned Women and Their Struggle With the Criminal Justice System by Betty May ($9.99). CreateSpace. Web: bettymayauthor.com

The Second Mourning: The Untold Story of America’s Most Bizarre Political Murder by Stephen G. Yanoff ($22.95). AuthorHouse. Web: stephengyanoff.com/tag/the-second-mourning

Poetry

First Place

Fading Into Focus by Joan Kantor ($12). CreateSpace. Web: joankantorpoetry.com

Honorable Mentions

A Certain Age by Cynthia Jobin ($20). Art Bookbindery. Web: littleoldladywho.net

Africa is the Mother Who Lies in the Grass by Donna O’Connell Gilmore and Olaf Kruger (illustrator) ($14). Sandheap Press.

Reference

First Place

A Fly Fishing Guide to Colorado’s Indian Peaks Wilderness Area by Steven B. Schweitzer and Michael Kruise with Benjamin Swigle (contributor) ($26.95). Pixachrome Publishing. Web: pixachrome.com

Honorable Mention

How to Feed Yourself: Recipes for Real Life From a Young & Hungry Foodie by Becky Duffett and Matt Schriock (photos) ($30). Yellow Dog Books. Web: beckyduffett.com/cookbook.html

November PAD Chapbook Challenge

2020 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 28

For the 2020 November PAD Chapbook Challenge, poets write a poem a day in the month of November before assembling a chapbook manuscript in the month of December. Today's prompt is to write a remix poem.

Omeara_11:27

Going Viral: Writing From the Hopeful Heart

Author Kitty O'Meara shares her experience of going viral online and how that lead to some exciting publishing opportunities.

November PAD Chapbook Challenge

2020 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 27

For the 2020 November PAD Chapbook Challenge, poets write a poem a day in the month of November before assembling a chapbook manuscript in the month of December. Today's prompt is to write a what's next poem.

plot_twist_story_prompts_an_invitation_robert_lee_brewer

Plot Twist Story Prompts: An Invitation

Every good story needs a nice (or not so nice) turn or two to keep it interesting. This week, give a character an invitation.

Vintage WD_Conder Soule 11:26

Vintage WD: Poetry without Rhyme—Or Even Thees and Thous

In this article from 1977, children’s writer and poet Jean Conder Soule explores the question, “How will I know when I’ve written a poem?”

November PAD Chapbook Challenge

2020 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 26

For the 2020 November PAD Chapbook Challenge, poets write a poem a day in the month of November before assembling a chapbook manuscript in the month of December. Today's prompt is to write a thankful poem.

Richard_11:24

Building Better Worlds: Five Tips to Guide Your Planning Process

Writer and WD editor Moriah Richard shares her top advice to help you fight world-building overwhelm and organize your story.

March_11:25

Why I Write Mysteries

Mystery writer Nev March shares how she found herself writing historical mysteries and what she hopes readers will get from her storytelling.

November PAD Chapbook Challenge

2020 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 25

For the 2020 November PAD Chapbook Challenge, poets write a poem a day in the month of November before assembling a chapbook manuscript in the month of December. Today's prompt is to write an exaggerated poem.