23rd Annual Writer's Digest Self-Published Book Awards

Author:
Publish date:
WritersDigest-April-2016-Cover

Writer’s Digest would like to congratulate the 46 winners of the 23rd Annual Self-Published Book Awards. For full coverage of the awards, check out the March/April 2016 issue of Writer’s Digest. Click here for an extended Q&A with the grand-prize winner Louise Esola.

Grand Prize

American Boys: The True Story of the Lost 74 of the Vietnam War by Louise Esola ($19.99). Pennway Books. Web: louiseesola.com

Children’s Picture Books

First Place

The Incredible Chapore by Monsieur Odyssey and Jo de Ruiter (illustrator) ($13.69). KAPOW! Publishing

Honorable Mentions

Genevieve and the Moon by Karlene Kay Ryan and Meredith Johnson (illustrator) ($17.99). Web: karlenekayryan.com

The SuperBrother Squad vs. The Aquatic Carrots of Doom by Jenay Sherman and Karolina Skorupska (illustrator) ($12.95). CreateSpace. superbrothersquad.com

Genre Fiction

First Place

Imogene in New Orleansby Hunter Murphy ($15). Rolltop Publishing. Web: huntermurphywriter.com

Honorable Mentions

A Place Between Breaths by Jennifer Froelich ($12.99). CreateSpace. Web: jenniferfroelich.com

Archie and Emma: A Novel Based on Actual People and Events by Brian Mercer ($20.95). Outskirts Press. Web: outskirtspress.com/archieandemma

Blown by Chuck Barrett ($16.95). Switchback Press. Web: chuckbarrettbooks.com

What Doesn’t Kill Youby Donna Huston Murray ($2.99). Web: donnahustonmurray.com

Gwendolyn’s Sword by E. A. Haltom ($16.95). Web: smittenbythewords.blogspot.com

Guarding Angel by S.L. Saboviec ($19.99). Book Design Templates. Web: saboviec.com

Psycho-Tropics by Dorian Box ($15.99). Friction Press. Web: dorianbox.com

Snow Men by Andrew Ceroni ($34.95). Outskirts Press. Web: outskirtspress.com/snowmen

(Un)Sound Mind by Richard Amico ($9.99). 57th Street Press.

Inspirational

First Place

A Beautiful Death by Cheryl Eckl ($14.95). Flying Crane Press. Web: abeautifuldeath.net

Honorable Mentions

Hallelujah: The Story of the Coming Forth of Handel’s Messiah by J. Scott Featherstone ($28). messiah-guide.com/books/featherstone.html

The Hero in Heroin: A Mother and Son’s Journey on Both Sides of the Veil by Mindy Miralia ($18.99). Balboa Press. Web: mindymiralia.com

Rich Kids: How to Raise Our Children to be Happy and Successful in Life by Tom Corley ($16.95). Two Harbors Press. Web: richhabits.net/rich-habits-books

Trusting the Currents by Lynnda Pollio ($16.95). SageHeart Media. Web: sageheart@lynndapollio.com

Life Stories

First Place

Walking to Woot by Jackie Chase ($39.95). Adventure Travel Press. Web: adventuretravelpress.com

Honorable Mentions

I Didn’t Tell Them Anything: The Wartime Secrets of an American Girlby Aleena Rieger ($19.95). Sunpetal Books.

Managing Bubbie by Russel Lazega ($12.95). CreateSpace. Web: facebook.com/Managing-Bubbie

The Bootleg Buggy: Stories of My Polish Family by Tina Lonski ($12.95). Lonski Publishing. storiesofbarns.com/index.html

The Pedestriennes: America’s Forgotten Superstars by Harry Hall ($20). Dogear Publishing. Web: pedestriennes.com

Mainstream Fiction

First Place

Circle of Three by Liesl D. Wilke ($10.99). Spark Arts & Letters. Web: lieslwilke.com/novels.php

Honorable Mentions

A Dance With Hummingbirds by Helen Deines ($16). Berkeley Square Press. Web: helendeines.com

Always Magnolia by Dianna Dann ($15). Wayward Cat Publishing. Web: waywardcatpublishing.com

As the Poppies Bloomed by Maral Boyadjian ($15.95). Salor Press.

Biddy Debeau Rides for His Life by Dan G. Hilton ($14.99). Free Four Five Publishing. Web: dghilton.net

Blue Sun, Yellow Sky by Jamie Jo Hoang ($12.99). Hey Jamie. Web: heyjamie.com

Every by Eric Scott ($2.99). Eric Scott. Web: iamericscott.com/every

Wings of Grace by Weldon B. Durham ($2.99). Friesen Press. Web: weldonbdurham.com

With Arms Unboundby Malcolm Ivey ($13.99). CreateSpace. Web: malcolmivey.com

Middle Grade/Young Adult

First Place

Jim Morgan and the Door at the Edge of the World by James Matlack Raney ($12.99). Web: jamesmraney.com

Honorable Mentions

Becoming the Balance Bringer by Debra Kristi ($16.99). Ghost Girl Publishing. Web: debrakristi.com

Between the Lines by Claudia Whitsitt ($12). Twisted Vines Press. Web: claudiawhitsitt.com

Ice Massacreby Tiana Warner ($14.95). Rogue Cannon Publishing. Web: tianawarner.com

Nonfiction

First Place

Running With the Hounds by David Wingfield and Charles Gillies ($15). David Wingfield and Charles Gillies. Web: runningwiththehounds.org

Honorable Mentions

Faces: Imprisoned Women and Their Struggle With the Criminal Justice System by Betty May ($9.99). CreateSpace. Web: bettymayauthor.com

The Second Mourning: The Untold Story of America’s Most Bizarre Political Murder by Stephen G. Yanoff ($22.95). AuthorHouse. Web: stephengyanoff.com/tag/the-second-mourning

Poetry

First Place

Fading Into Focus by Joan Kantor ($12). CreateSpace. Web: joankantorpoetry.com

Honorable Mentions

A Certain Age by Cynthia Jobin ($20). Art Bookbindery. Web: littleoldladywho.net

Africa is the Mother Who Lies in the Grass by Donna O’Connell Gilmore and Olaf Kruger (illustrator) ($14). Sandheap Press.

Reference

First Place

A Fly Fishing Guide to Colorado’s Indian Peaks Wilderness Area by Steven B. Schweitzer and Michael Kruise with Benjamin Swigle (contributor) ($26.95). Pixachrome Publishing. Web: pixachrome.com

Honorable Mention

How to Feed Yourself: Recipes for Real Life From a Young & Hungry Foodie by Becky Duffett and Matt Schriock (photos) ($30). Yellow Dog Books. Web: beckyduffett.com/cookbook.html

Natalie Lund: On Grief and Unanswered Questions in YA Fiction

Natalie Lund: On Grief and Unanswered Questions in YA Fiction

YA author Natalie Lund shares how she handles the subject of death for a YA audience in her latest novel The Sky Above Us.

April PAD Challenge

2021 April PAD Challenge: Day 13

Write a poem every day of April with the 2021 April Poem-A-Day Challenge. For today's prompt, write a Lucky and/or Unlucky poem.

What Is a Plotter in Writing?

What Is a Plotter in Writing?

The world of storytelling can be broken into many categories and sub-categories, but one division is between plotter and pantser. Learn what a plotter means in writing and how they differ from pantsers here.

Waist vs. Waste (Grammar Rules)

Waist vs. Waste (Grammar Rules)

Learn the differences of waist vs. waste on with Grammar Rules from the Writer's Digest editors, including a few examples of correct usages.

Bridget Foley: On Writing Psychologically Potent Metaphors

Bridget Foley: On Writing Psychologically Potent Metaphors

Novelist Bridget Foley explains the seed that grew into her latest book Just Get Home and how she stayed hopeful in the face of rejection.

April PAD Challenge

2021 April PAD Challenge: Day 12

Write a poem every day of April with the 2021 April Poem-A-Day Challenge. For today's prompt, write a six words poem.

What Is a Pantser in Writing?

What Is a Pantser in Writing?

The world of storytelling can be broken into many categories and sub-categories, but one division is between pantser and plotter. Learn what a pantser means in writing and how they differ from plotters here.

Too Seen: The Intimacy of Copy Editing

Too Seen: The Intimacy of Copy Editing

Novelist A.E. Osworth discusses their experience working with a copyeditor for their novel We Are Watching Eliza Bright and how the experience made them feel Witnessed.

writer's digest wd presents

WD Presents: From Our Readers Announcement, Upcoming Webinars, and more!

This week, we’re excited to announce a call for From Our Readers submissions, a webinar on crafting expert query letters, and more!