Skip to main content

23rd Annual Writer's Digest Self-Published Book Awards

WritersDigest-April-2016-Cover

Writer’s Digest would like to congratulate the 46 winners of the 23rd Annual Self-Published Book Awards. For full coverage of the awards, check out the March/April 2016 issue of Writer’s Digest. Click here for an extended Q&A with the grand-prize winner Louise Esola.

Grand Prize

American Boys: The True Story of the Lost 74 of the Vietnam War by Louise Esola ($19.99). Pennway Books. Web: louiseesola.com

Children’s Picture Books

First Place

The Incredible Chapore by Monsieur Odyssey and Jo de Ruiter (illustrator) ($13.69). KAPOW! Publishing

Honorable Mentions

Genevieve and the Moon by Karlene Kay Ryan and Meredith Johnson (illustrator) ($17.99). Web: karlenekayryan.com

The SuperBrother Squad vs. The Aquatic Carrots of Doom by Jenay Sherman and Karolina Skorupska (illustrator) ($12.95). CreateSpace. superbrothersquad.com

Genre Fiction

First Place

Imogene in New Orleansby Hunter Murphy ($15). Rolltop Publishing. Web: huntermurphywriter.com

Honorable Mentions

A Place Between Breaths by Jennifer Froelich ($12.99). CreateSpace. Web: jenniferfroelich.com

Archie and Emma: A Novel Based on Actual People and Events by Brian Mercer ($20.95). Outskirts Press. Web: outskirtspress.com/archieandemma

Blown by Chuck Barrett ($16.95). Switchback Press. Web: chuckbarrettbooks.com

What Doesn’t Kill Youby Donna Huston Murray ($2.99). Web: donnahustonmurray.com

Gwendolyn’s Sword by E. A. Haltom ($16.95). Web: smittenbythewords.blogspot.com

Guarding Angel by S.L. Saboviec ($19.99). Book Design Templates. Web: saboviec.com

Psycho-Tropics by Dorian Box ($15.99). Friction Press. Web: dorianbox.com

Snow Men by Andrew Ceroni ($34.95). Outskirts Press. Web: outskirtspress.com/snowmen

(Un)Sound Mind by Richard Amico ($9.99). 57th Street Press.

Inspirational

First Place

A Beautiful Death by Cheryl Eckl ($14.95). Flying Crane Press. Web: abeautifuldeath.net

Honorable Mentions

Hallelujah: The Story of the Coming Forth of Handel’s Messiah by J. Scott Featherstone ($28). messiah-guide.com/books/featherstone.html

The Hero in Heroin: A Mother and Son’s Journey on Both Sides of the Veil by Mindy Miralia ($18.99). Balboa Press. Web: mindymiralia.com

Rich Kids: How to Raise Our Children to be Happy and Successful in Life by Tom Corley ($16.95). Two Harbors Press. Web: richhabits.net/rich-habits-books

Trusting the Currents by Lynnda Pollio ($16.95). SageHeart Media. Web: sageheart@lynndapollio.com

Life Stories

First Place

Walking to Woot by Jackie Chase ($39.95). Adventure Travel Press. Web: adventuretravelpress.com

Honorable Mentions

I Didn’t Tell Them Anything: The Wartime Secrets of an American Girlby Aleena Rieger ($19.95). Sunpetal Books.

Managing Bubbie by Russel Lazega ($12.95). CreateSpace. Web: facebook.com/Managing-Bubbie

The Bootleg Buggy: Stories of My Polish Family by Tina Lonski ($12.95). Lonski Publishing. storiesofbarns.com/index.html

The Pedestriennes: America’s Forgotten Superstars by Harry Hall ($20). Dogear Publishing. Web: pedestriennes.com

Mainstream Fiction

First Place

Circle of Three by Liesl D. Wilke ($10.99). Spark Arts & Letters. Web: lieslwilke.com/novels.php

Honorable Mentions

A Dance With Hummingbirds by Helen Deines ($16). Berkeley Square Press. Web: helendeines.com

Always Magnolia by Dianna Dann ($15). Wayward Cat Publishing. Web: waywardcatpublishing.com

As the Poppies Bloomed by Maral Boyadjian ($15.95). Salor Press.

Biddy Debeau Rides for His Life by Dan G. Hilton ($14.99). Free Four Five Publishing. Web: dghilton.net

Blue Sun, Yellow Sky by Jamie Jo Hoang ($12.99). Hey Jamie. Web: heyjamie.com

Every by Eric Scott ($2.99). Eric Scott. Web: iamericscott.com/every

Wings of Grace by Weldon B. Durham ($2.99). Friesen Press. Web: weldonbdurham.com

With Arms Unboundby Malcolm Ivey ($13.99). CreateSpace. Web: malcolmivey.com

Middle Grade/Young Adult

First Place

Jim Morgan and the Door at the Edge of the World by James Matlack Raney ($12.99). Web: jamesmraney.com

Honorable Mentions

Becoming the Balance Bringer by Debra Kristi ($16.99). Ghost Girl Publishing. Web: debrakristi.com

Between the Lines by Claudia Whitsitt ($12). Twisted Vines Press. Web: claudiawhitsitt.com

Ice Massacreby Tiana Warner ($14.95). Rogue Cannon Publishing. Web: tianawarner.com

Nonfiction

First Place

Running With the Hounds by David Wingfield and Charles Gillies ($15). David Wingfield and Charles Gillies. Web: runningwiththehounds.org

Honorable Mentions

Faces: Imprisoned Women and Their Struggle With the Criminal Justice System by Betty May ($9.99). CreateSpace. Web: bettymayauthor.com

The Second Mourning: The Untold Story of America’s Most Bizarre Political Murder by Stephen G. Yanoff ($22.95). AuthorHouse. Web: stephengyanoff.com/tag/the-second-mourning

Poetry

First Place

Fading Into Focus by Joan Kantor ($12). CreateSpace. Web: joankantorpoetry.com

Honorable Mentions

A Certain Age by Cynthia Jobin ($20). Art Bookbindery. Web: littleoldladywho.net

Africa is the Mother Who Lies in the Grass by Donna O’Connell Gilmore and Olaf Kruger (illustrator) ($14). Sandheap Press.

Reference

First Place

A Fly Fishing Guide to Colorado’s Indian Peaks Wilderness Area by Steven B. Schweitzer and Michael Kruise with Benjamin Swigle (contributor) ($26.95). Pixachrome Publishing. Web: pixachrome.com

Honorable Mention

How to Feed Yourself: Recipes for Real Life From a Young & Hungry Foodie by Becky Duffett and Matt Schriock (photos) ($30). Yellow Dog Books. Web: beckyduffett.com/cookbook.html

From Script

How to Write from a Place of Truth and Desire and Bending the Rules in Screenwriting (From Script)

In this week’s round up brought to us by Script magazine, exclusive interviews with screenwriter Steven Knight (Spencer), Mike Mills (C'mon C'mon), and David Mitchell (Matrix Resurrection). Plus, how to utilize your vulnerability in your writing and different perspectives on screenwriting structure.

Writing Mistakes Writers Make: Forgetting To Read

Writing Mistakes Writers Make: Forgetting To Read

The Writer's Digest team has witnessed many writing mistakes over the years, so this series helps identify them for other writers (along with correction strategies). This week's mistake is forgetting to read.

Tapping Your Memories for Emotional Truths on the Page

Tapping Your Memories for Emotional Truths on the Page

Sharing even a fraction of our feelings with our characters will help our stories feel more authentic. Here, Kris Spisak explains how to tap into our memories to tell emotional truths on the page.

Poetic Forms

Trinet: Poetic Forms

Poetic Form Fridays are made to share various poetic forms. This week, we look at the trinet, a seven-line form based on word count.

Tammye Huf: On Real Love That Sparked Inspiration

Tammye Huf: On Real Love That Sparked Inspiration

Debut novelist Tammye Huf discusses how her own familial love story inspired her historical fiction novel, A More Perfect Union.

Announcing the Second Annual Personal Essay Awards Winners

Announcing the Second Annual Personal Essay Awards Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the second annual Writer's Digest Personal Essay Awards!

Plot Twist Story Prompts: Going Rogue

Plot Twist Story Prompts: Going Rogue

Every good story needs a nice (or not so nice) turn or two to keep it interesting. This week, have a character go rogue.

How to Love Writing a Book

How to Love Writing a Book

When you’re in the weeds of the writing process, it’s easy to lose sight of why you started in the first place. Here, author Radhika Sanghani shares her tips on how to love the process of writing your book.

How Daily Meditation Can Lead to New Stories

How Daily Meditation Can Lead to New Stories

In seeking meaning did author Randal Maurice Jelks also find purpose and understanding. Here, he shares how daily meditation can lead to new stories.