Writer’s Digest’s new Online Content Director

Home Forums Writer’s Digest Forum Writers’ Block Party Writer’s Digest’s new Online Content Director

This topic contains 23 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 11 months ago.

• Author

Anonymous

Hello all.

I believe Brian Klems, the former Online Content Director, may have addressed this before, but he has left Writer’s Digest in order to spend more time with his family and work on a novel. I’m Jess Zafarris, the new online content director who is stepping into his role. Brian spoke very highly of the WD community at large and those who post in the forums in particular, so I’m thrilled to get to know everyone.

A bit of background: I have a master’s in digital and investigative journalism and a bachelor’s in literature. I am a digital native with nine years of professional experience in digital media and writing. I’m formerly the editor-in-chief of HOW, a graphic design magazine, and the online content director of two graphic design news websites. I have a peculiar flair for experimental and interactive online journalism. In my previous jobs, I’ve written, edited and published work for TV, magazines, and newspapers, as well as short stories, blog articles, and more.

Do please let me know if there are specific topics you’d like to see addressed, or if you have any questions about WD. I’m especially looking forward to our upcoming website redesign of Writer’s Digest—the current wireframes look wonderful.

A fun fact about me: I have a particular passion for interesting and humorous word etymologies, and I’m working on compiling a book on the topic. I’ve written about 70 blurbs for it so far. Here’s the latest: