The Boy in the Sewer. A True Story

Home Forums Critique Central Nonfiction The Boy in the Sewer. A True Story

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  maxiuomc48 3 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

theron72t300
    Participant

I almost never walked in that part of the city. I do not remember why that particular day I was out there. Maybe I had gone looking for something or  I was going to see someone. I just remember I had some time to spare.

At that time I was a Music student at the University. I decided to go to a park and sit under a tree to work on some pending tasks. While working, I noticed a large sewer a few meters away. Inside, there was a boy about 11 or 14 years old, he started peeking at me. After a while, the boy came out of the sewer and, at first, kept his distance but never lost sight of me. Slowly and quietly, he came closer until he sat next to me.

Without saying anything at first, he curiously watched me working. After a while, he asked me what I was doing. I replied that I was learning to read and write music.– I know some songs. Would you like to listen to them? –he said. Without waiting for an answer, he started singing. He sang several songs, I do not remember how many, I only remember how enthusiastically he sang. When he finished, without saying a word, he got up and ran back to the sewer.

I stayed a while longer working. Occasionally some other boys would enter or leave the sewer, but I did not see him again.

The next day, in the newspaper, a photograph immediately struck me. It was a photo of the same sewer from which the boy had come out the day before. The news narrated that during the night someone had thrown gasoline into the sewers and set them on fire, killing several boys who lived inside. The note did not mention any suspect or the reason for such an act.