Reasonable Price for Developmental Editor

Home Forums Writer’s Digest Forum Tips and Advice Reasonable Price for Developmental Editor

This topic contains 32 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  editor17 1 week, 1 day ago.

• Author

Noizchild
    Participant

Ever since 2015, I have been publishing my books via self-publishing. For my latest book, however, I decided to try and go for a more traditional route in publishing. This is my first time of seeking a professional editor. Up until this point, I have relied on beta readers for my editing. I am look for developmental editing for my upcoming book, Steel Prison. As it stands for the moment, the book has 48,827 words and 109 pages long. I am wishing that it could be longer and maybe make the plot more fluid. This book has been edited several times over the years, the latest one being this month while on vacation. I am looking for one last edit before sending it off to the publishers.

What is the average price that I should aim for a developmental editor.

Hi Noizchild. 🙂

I’ve never hired a developmental editor, so I hope I’m not intruding.
    But I do have some input.

I would check to see if the book’s word count is close to the word count that traditional publishers like to have for that genre.

If your manuscript is too short, try adding a subplot or two.

And I would search for a number of editors that I like who specialize in editing the genre, and find the average price.

I would also look at editors who charge by the word instead of charging by the hour.

I would also check the specific services that are provided, some editors provide multiple services for one overall price.

I looked at 2 editor service websites and they both charge the same price for developmental editing. But one website includes a free ebook cover from another website that has pre-made covers.

Just my 2 cents. 🙂

Rob Vargas