Meet Fiction Writer Matt Janacone

Home Forums Writer’s Digest Forum Introductions Meet Fiction Writer Matt Janacone

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  AngelinaK52 4 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

Alexxissor
    Blocked

As a child, there were no sure signs that I was a writer. I was somewhat of a picky reader, reading mostly the ‘Encyclopedia Brown’ books. I didn’t keep a journal, or a diary, but I certainly enjoyed telling mostly made up stories to my class. What I did do was draw, and if you would have seen some of my drawings, you might say I was born to draw, but as much as my mother saw me as an imagineer for Walt Disney and my father saw me as an architect, I went neither direction after high school.

Directly after high school, I got drafted by into college my father where studied neither art nor architectural engineering. I picked physics, but no matter how badly I wanted to sport a long white lab coat, the math just wasn’t for me.

Everything changed when I began taking my English requirements. Not only did I discover writing was something I could do, I fell in love with it. It wasn’t much longer after that that I gladly traded in my scientific calculator for a manual typewriter and began writing poetry inspired by the Romantic Period.

But all the poetry I wrote turned out to be a phase.

In what some might think of as solitary confinement, the unfinished attic of my parents’ home I focused on writing the Great American Novel.

Although I fell well short of the Great American Novel with only short stories to show for it, after eight long years of hard time at Butler County Community College and what some might add as only an associate degree in arts to show for it, what I eventually wrote was the Great American “Short” Novel with “Jamaican Moon”.