How do you build a paragraph in a story?

Home Forums Writer’s Digest Forum Tips and Advice How do you build a paragraph in a story?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  maxiuomc48 3 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Author

maxiuomc48
    Participant

Hi everybody. 🙂

I developed my writing style by reading and getting used to the way writing is normally presented. For example, I know how to write sentences because I have read many proper sentences and have become used to how they look and sound.

Of course I went to high school and I think I was a good English student. But it was so long ago that I have forgotten many things.

So I’ve been thinking about how to write a paragraph in a story.

How do you craft or build your paragraphs written for your stories?

Aside from dialogue, should a paragraph written for fiction follow the same structure and be built the same way as a paragraph written for nonfiction?

How many topics should you have in a single paragraph written for a story? If you have too many topics in the paragraph, then the paragraph seems like it is rambling and too long, isn’t that right?

Any help is appreciated and thanks in advance. 🙂

Anonymous

I was always taught one topic per paragraph and only related sentences belong in that paragraph. If the topic changes or moves in another direction, new paragraph.

This might be of help also:

https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/606/01/

AngelinaK52
    Participant