First chapter (prologue) – around 2,900 words

Home Forums Critique Central YA Fiction First chapter (prologue) – around 2,900 words

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 6 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Author

Anonymous

Hello community! I should probably warn you that this is intended to be YA fantasy and this extract is a prologue that skips through in time so it’s supposed to be a bit confusing (not too confusing though!). I’m a new writer, so I basically need feedback on everything I’m doing. I can see a lot of blaring errors but I’ve already rewritten this five times… I need some new eyes on the job.

Prologue- Blessed to be Cursed

Its dark, the waning moon high, and its time for a break-in.

She’s stood in front of the house’s fence. The iron nails holding together the wood of the fence are rusted and its white paint is chipped, flaking away.

Its uncared-for visage isn’t a sign of disuse. It’s a warning.

She knows better than to touch the gate, places her hands on unsteady wood instead and climbs over the fence.

The house is low to the ground, panelled wood surrounded by an overcrowded garden. Its windows are almost covered- she can just make out flashes of dark glass between leaves.

She treads between the herb bushes and trees, around to the side of the house. The window there is more accessible.

She walks close, places her thumb against its wooden sill. Underneath her skin (the pulse of her own heart) she can feel the thrum of magic. Drawing her thumb across the wood she can feel the grooves and indents of the runes carved into it.

She takes a pick made of ash-tree wood from her pocket, the same tree as the sill. She slides the pick between the sill and the window, breaking their seal.

She then pries the window open. It’s not easy. The glass pane of the window gets stuck what seems like every third pull. Lucky for her, it doesn’t make a sound and the thrum (the undercurrent she can feel) doesn’t stir.