Does anyone else feel disillusioned?

Home Forums Writer’s Digest Forum Writers’ Block Party Does anyone else feel disillusioned?

This topic contains 11 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  paulinamarroquin 8 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

paulinamarroquin
    Participant

Hi there,

I think I have lost my “flow” as in I cannot seem to write with my heart and soul. Every sentence seems incredibly hard work, but hey, at least I can still make myself write, am I right?

But the thing is… I have been recently feeling disillusioned with writing and the publishing world in general. It seems that my marketing efforts (I am a self-published author) are not really working and my book sales have been almost down to zero in the past week despite having four books up on Amazon. Maybe it is because I have not been willing yet to spend large sums of money on marketing my books? I am, of course, aware of the fact that I have not created easily marketable books, but still…

Of course writing is not about making money, and if I knew that in the future I will not sell any book at all, I think I would still write.

My question is though, how do you successfully ignore disastrous book sales and focus solely on creating the best product when it seems that despite your best efforts, you never really “succeed”?

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

Anonymous

I don’t think ignoring low sales is the answer. Every business has to look at why a product isn’t working, and figure out how to change that. And that’s the thing about publishing – it’s a business. There is a reason for low sales – maybe marketing (not necessarily money spent), maybe subject (limited audience), maybe the writing – or maybe you’re just not good a being a self-publisher (not everybody is).

paulinamarroquin
    Participant