Advice?

This topic contains 16 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 3 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

Anonymous

I’m still a pretty new writer and I’ve been having trouble deciding on what my first story will be, but recently I came across one of my old story ideas and it comes across as a Short Story idea to me. I’ve heard writers should write Short Stories before novels so thinking about going with it as my first. Thing is, this will be an anti-animal abuse story and my plan with this story was to share it and send all the money it earns to an animal shelter in need. How should I go about this? Maybe it shouldn’t be my first story as I’ve heard first stories don’t make much money? Any advice on if this is a good idea or not would be very much appreciated.

Anonymous

kris0707 wrote:
    > I’m still a pretty new writer and I’ve been having trouble deciding on what
    > my first story will be, but recently I came across one of my old story
    > ideas and it comes across as a Short Story idea to me. I’ve heard writers
    > should write Short Stories before novels so thinking about going with it as
    > my first. Thing is, this will be an anti-animal abuse story and my plan
    > with this story was to share it and send all the money it earns to an
    > animal shelter in need. How should I go about this? Maybe it shouldn’t be
    > my first story as I’ve heard first stories don’t make much money? Any
    > advice on if this is a good idea or not would be very much appreciated.

First off, the only reason I can think of to write short stories before novels is to get in the habit of finishing the story. Short stories are different animals from novels, so they aren’t really “practice” for novel writing (and we’ve all read novels by writers who think they’re just longer short stories – not good.).