Hello, let me introduce myself...

Stop in and get to know your fellow writers.
PurpleHaze
Private E-1

Postby PurpleHaze » Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:28 pm

PurpleHaze
Private E-1

Postby PurpleHaze » Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:28 pm

Hello everybody. I'm new to this wesite and forum. I've just ordered my subscription to Writer's Digest and look forward to learning from it. Let me break the ice by giving you all a little background. A little over a year ago I completed the first draft of my novel. It's a tribute to the classic Hollywood western. I tried to capture the style of glamour and romanticisn, rather than gritty realism. My only deviation being the use of more modern themes that would have been taboo during the heyday of the Hollywood western. My job prevented me from working on the novel for the past year, but now I have changed jobs and have started working on it again. The first draft was around 55,000 words and seemed a little anemic to me, as my writing tends to be streamlined and to the point (unlike this introduction). The friends and relatives I allowed to read it were enthusiastic, but probably because they weren't objective, but they all agreed on one thing - They wanted more details! So I am in the process of "beefing it up." I'm tempted to post excerpts on a critique forum such as this one, in order to get some objective opinions, but I'm a little wary of putting it out there, considered all the blood, sweat, and tears that went into it. What thoughts do you all have on that? Are you ever concerned about people stealing your ideas or even stealing your work when you post it on a forum? I'm sorry if I sound paranoid, but this is new to me.

jmar2
Major General

RE: Hello, let me introduce myself...

Postby jmar2 » Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:36 am

Hello pilgrim!
Here, put that old nag into the stall and give her some oats. If you toss ol' Mose a dollar, he'll take right good care of her.