Help-- I have haptodysphoria!

Stop in and get to know your fellow writers.
Bob Loblaw

Postby Bob Loblaw » Sat May 27, 2006 11:15 am

Bob Loblaw

Postby Bob Loblaw » Sat May 27, 2006 11:15 am

No. I lied. But since you're here, let me introduce myself:

Hi. I'm a new writer here. I guess you can say I'm a transfer from another forum since I turned 18 and I shouldn't be there. I also wanted to get away from the younger writers and mature my writing-- take it to the next level. My goal is to get published-- for real this time, not in a small school literary magazine or a book that no one reads (or wants to read-- trust me, it has some horrible essays in there).

Anyway, if you excuse the word, my name is Bob Loblaw. Nice to meet you. :)

Epic
Lieutenant Colonel

RE: Help-- I have haptodysphoria!

Postby Epic » Sat May 27, 2006 11:43 am

I was about to welcome you by saying, hey, I, too, am a sufferer of haptodysphoria, bla, bla; but decided I'd better google first to find out if it was real malady.  Well, it turns out it is real and I do suffer from it: drinking from the commonly used metal dipper (to refrain would insult) from a pail of well water at my aunt and uncle's decades ago.  Eek.  Putting a metal cup to my lips takes me back. 

You sound like you're going to be a fun, interesting guy.  Welcome.

entropy_happens

Postby entropy_happens » Mon May 29, 2006 2:14 pm

Welcome...and what the heck is haptodysphoria? :o
Anyway...welcome to the psychotic insane asylum--cough, cough--I mean forum. Disregard that last part.
Godspeed,
Lynne

loudermilk
Major

Postby loudermilk » Mon May 29, 2006 7:00 pm

I prefer to drink straight from the tap (beer tap) but hello anyway.

smiley10000

Postby smiley10000 » Mon May 29, 2006 7:20 pm

I'm confused...

"n. - unpleasant sensation felt by some people when touching peaches, cotton, or similar surfaces"
Seems to be the definition I get from google...
Epic, am I missing something????