Your Approach to Writing

Here's the place to share a writing or marketing tip you've used successfully and want to pass along.
Plaidman
Private E-1

Your Approach to Writing

Postby Plaidman » Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:27 am

As some of you may have noticed, I am a new member here. I am also a complete beginner at writing. I have several questions for experienced writers. This is one of them:

When you begin to write a story, do you plan out your plot from beginning to end, the way you might put together an outline for a research paper? Or, do you just sit down and start writing and the story goes where it goes?

Other related thoughts:
Do you focus on creating your main character(s) before approaching the plot?
Do you think about setting then build your story within it?

The more I think about this, the more I realize there are many ways to approach writing a story. What approach do you take?

T.A.Rodgers
Site Admin

Re: Your Approach to Writing

Postby T.A.Rodgers » Fri Sep 08, 2017 7:50 am

We'll assume for a moment that you are not the same poster that keeps asking the same question. And forgive me if I'm wrong. :D

There are so many ways to write a novel that they can't all be listed here, but I'll name a few ways.

For Plotters: