How to write a flashback in a novel

Here's the place to share a writing or marketing tip you've used successfully and want to pass along.
Danny1980
Private E-1

How to write a flashback in a novel

Postby Danny1980 » Mon Aug 01, 2016 9:24 am

Hello

First of all, thanks for all your help and time!

I want to ask how to write a flashback in a novel. I'm adapting a script, written by me, some years ago. (I am a rookie)

Part of script is the following:

Ted observes an old woman asking for the time from a young blonde and skinny girl. At that moment Ted is frozen for a few seconds. His mind triggers a flashback.

BEGIN FLASHBACK:

EXT. ASTER STREET, DOWNTOWN – DAY (1988)
Ted, 16 years, walks on the streets near his home. Suddenly he looks an attractive YOUNG GIRL, black hair, and thin.

TED
Hello… Could you tell me, what time is it?

So, I have written in present tense this part of the novel (*)

He observes an old woman asking for the time from a young blonde and skinny girl. At that moment Ted is frozen for a few seconds. His mind triggers a flashback, sending him, to 1988

Ted, a boy of sixteen at that time, walks the streets near the home of his parents. Suddenly he looks an attractive young and thin girl with a beautiful black hair. Despite his shyness, he comes close to her.

'Hello… Could you tell me, what time it is?', Ted asked.

Thanks for your help!
Last edited by Danny1980 on Tue Aug 02, 2016 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

G.E.Plum
Private E-1

Re: How to write a flashback in a novel

Postby G.E.Plum » Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:48 am

I know how I've done it, but I can't just come up with something off the top of my head. Can you post the present-day scene from your novel and we can see if we can segue into the flashback? If that's permitted here, I'd be willing to look at it.

I'm no expert, I'm just a writer.

Danny1980
Private E-1

Postby Danny1980 » Tue Aug 02, 2016 10:46 am

Dear G.E. Plum: