Is anyone familiar with?

Frequently asked questions

Moderator: Arwen9

jbjune
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 3:45 pm

Is anyone familiar with?

Postby jbjune » Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:57 pm

Has anyone heard of the site American Writers and Illustrators? It is AWAI, also known as the Barefoot Writers Club. I was wondering how legitimate this site is?

User avatar
pls
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:52 am

Re: Is anyone familiar with?

Postby pls » Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:19 pm

jbjune wrote:Has anyone heard of the site American Writers and Illustrators? It is AWAI, also known as the Barefoot Writers Club. I was wondering how legitimate this site is?


Here's what I found on http://www.awaionline.com/about/.

A few quotes from that site: "… as the world’s leading publisher of direct-response copywriting, travel writing, photography and graphic design home-study programs …"

"Not long ago, J.B. was $200,000 in debt with 7 kids, no cash in the bank and zero income. Now he makes six figures ($45,000 in one 2-month period alone!), is free of debt, free to spend quality time with his family, and is living the life of his dreams … all while writing from home using the secrets in AWAI’s copywriting program."

You can do what you like, jbjune, but I'm running far away from this one.
The "High School" novels:
Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005GUKN60
Facebook page (Friend me!): http://www.facebook.com/TheHighSchoolNovels

jbjune
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: Is anyone familiar with?

Postby jbjune » Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:52 pm

pls wrote:
jbjune wrote:Has anyone heard of the site American Writers and Illustrators? It is AWAI, also known as the Barefoot Writers Club. I was wondering how legitimate this site is?


Here's what I found on http://www.awaionline.com/about/.

A few quotes from that site: "… as the world’s leading publisher of direct-response copywriting, travel writing, photography and graphic design home-study programs …"

"Not long ago, J.B. was $200,000 in debt with 7 kids, no cash in the bank and zero income. Now he makes six figures ($45,000 in one 2-month period alone!), is free of debt, free to spend quality time with his family, and is living the life of his dreams … all while writing from home using the secrets in AWAI’s copywriting program."

You can do what you like, jbjune, but I'm running far away from this one.


Thank you for responding. Just wanted that extra incentive to say no and look to other avenues of writing.

User avatar
mammamaia
 
Posts: 5085
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:39 pm

Re: Is anyone familiar with?

Postby mammamaia » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:14 am

that would be a smart move!
ALL 6 e-book collections of my work are FREE...email me with "want free books" in subject line and include a message.

FREE writing help/mentoring: http://www.saysmom.com

"You must BE the change you wish to see in the world." Gandhi

jbjune
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: Is anyone familiar with?

Postby jbjune » Tue Jan 22, 2013 3:00 pm

mammamaia wrote:that would be a smart move!


Hey mammamaia,

I had received a reply from you in reference to publishamerica a while back and you stated that you have a formal letter that might work in my efforts to sever ties with them. What do I need to do? Thank you.

Jeff

User avatar
mammamaia
 
Posts: 5085
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:39 pm

Re: Is anyone familiar with?

Postby mammamaia » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:12 am

email me 'at home' jeff...

maia3maia@hotmail.com
ALL 6 e-book collections of my work are FREE...email me with "want free books" in subject line and include a message.

FREE writing help/mentoring: http://www.saysmom.com

"You must BE the change you wish to see in the world." Gandhi

cbswartz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 11:42 am

Re: Is anyone familiar with?

Postby cbswartz » Wed Apr 24, 2013 7:46 am

Why is Writer's Digest affiliated with this organization if it is a scam? I received my introduction to it from Writer's Digest. What proof do you have that it is indeed a scam? If it is I no longer want to be associated with Writer's Digest.

User avatar
mammamaia
 
Posts: 5085
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:39 pm

Re: Is anyone familiar with?

Postby mammamaia » Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:28 am

cbswartz wrote:Why is Writer's Digest affiliated with this organization if it is a scam? I received my introduction to it from Writer's Digest. What proof do you have that it is indeed a scam? If it is I no longer want to be associated with Writer's Digest.

...if you're referring to publish america, while it may not be an out and out 'scam' it certainly does take shameful advantage of unwary new writers... see how here:

http://www.invirtuo.cc/prededitors/pebpublisham.htm

always check out agents/publishers/workshops/etc. on this site, before considering contacting them... also google for negative feedback and go over their websites carefully, to make sure they're legit and worth contacting...

how did that 'introduction' to pa come to you from wd?... was it just an ad appearing over the site, or what?...
ALL 6 e-book collections of my work are FREE...email me with "want free books" in subject line and include a message.

FREE writing help/mentoring: http://www.saysmom.com

"You must BE the change you wish to see in the world." Gandhi


Return to FAQs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest