Searching for a Fellow of Pen and Paper

Join fellow writers here for encouragement and accountability. Look for a writing buddy in your genre or work with someone to set and reach your writing goals.
Xyzo
Private E-1

Searching for a Fellow of Pen and Paper

Postby Xyzo » Sun Aug 31, 2014 6:07 am

Hello all. I know I'm pretty much new here. So greetings again.

I'm searching for buddies. Probably two or three fellow writers, that would be great. People who are devoted to writing and are willing to critique novel-length stuff. (Of course, I would reciprocate. That's what buddies do.) I'm not a master critic myself though. Actually, I have many doubts about my writing and critiquing skills. That's why I'd like a friend who would be able to tell me their opinion (even if the truth could be harsh). I'm a zealous writer and write a lot. (Though it doesn't seem so lately, because I focus on writing books nowadays). I'm really interested in seeing things through and getting stuff published. But then there's the doubt.

Genres usually don't matter, though I focus on fantasy, scifi, thriller, mystery... dipped in surreal, supernatural, slipstream, or a bit of it all. Sometimes, the genre is confusing. That's why it doesn't matter. I don't write erotica/romance though. I like my stories complex, perhaps even convoluted. Many times have I watched a movie or read a book and though the plot would be so great if it this guy was actually against that one, if this would backstab that... Simply put, they leave me somewhat disappointed and wanting more. So that's why I write, mostly. Conspiracy, conflict, strife, treachery are my favourite ingredients.