Critique and accountability partner (YA)

Join fellow writers here for encouragement and accountability. Look for a writing buddy in your genre or work with someone to set and reach your writing goals.
Jean Marie
Private E-1

Critique and accountability partner (YA)

Postby Jean Marie » Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:25 pm

Hi everyone,

Is anybody looking for a critique and accountability playmate? ;) I'm a newbie to writing and can use any criticism I can get.

In the future, I hope to branch out to various genres, though I am currently writing book 2 of a YA fantasy series detailing the troubled life of a 17 year old girl, and I would love preferably someone who enjoys YA to give outside feedback. The series has dark aspects, riddled with real life difficulties and situations.

We could email each other daily or weekly with our writing goals and accomplishments, and also trade chapters for critique. I am an avid reader with an open mind and a love for most genres. Of course, if you'd like, we could start on a trial basis with a sample chapter. If you are interested or would like more information, please pm me or reply here. Thanks a bunch.

Jean Marie
Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.
-Abraham Lincoln

J.M.Baldwin
Private E-1

Re: Critique and accountability partner (YA)

Postby J.M.Baldwin » Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:30 am

Hey there :) I'm currently writing a young adult series, too, and it's sort of a realistic drama with fantasy over tones.

I love writing and reading, but alas I have no one else in my real world life that loves it like I do. Every time I get excited about a scene in my novel I swear I can see their eyes glaze over, which kind of depresses me.

I'd love to swap chapters, critique, give deadlines, and just talk about writing in general. We could give advice to each other on our current projects.
I'm free to talk to most days, especially with it being the Christmas holidays right now, but weekly is fine if you're busy.