Publishing a Book on the Web for Free in Installments

What's going on in your writing world? Connect with the writing community here and talk about whatever's on your mind.
Norman P. Jones
Private E-1

Publishing a Book on the Web for Free in Installments

Postby Norman P. Jones » Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:19 am

Hello Everyone,

I hope you’ll excuse me for stumbling in on you like this, but perhaps you can help me with some advice.

I am not a professional author, nor will I ever be, but I do enjoy writing. So I feel that I cannot possibly keep up with anyone of you hopefully reading this.

My problem is the following: I have completed a suspense novel of just over 200 000 words (I know, I know), and it’s been rejected by a fairly large number of agents and publishers. Probably because it’s a dud, I couldn’t say, it’s hard to judge. Most of them (bar one) were very nice about it.

Now there are two possibilities, as far as I can see: one would be to just have it vanish in a desk drawer forever, or, and this leads to my question, just chuck it out on the web for free. Perhaps there’ll be someone out there who’ll enjoy it. You never know, it takes all sorts.

The ideal way to do this would be, of course, to find a site that would enable me to just upload the manuscript in weekly installments. To me it would feel like getting rid of the sodding (I’m British) thing at last and have done with it.

At the same time it would be a shame if I placed it on some obscure site where it would sink like a stone or set up some author’s blog site where the work necessary to get it known would take more effort than the book itself. Some feedback now and again would also be appreciated, perhaps even a timid request for the next installment? I can dream.

Anyway, my question is: does anyone know of such a site and point me in the right direction? That would be very much appreciated.

Regards
Norman

pls
Site Admin

Re: Publishing a Book on the Web for Free in Installments